We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We really liked it”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Snappy Lunch

Snappy Lunch
Ranked #3 of 101 Restaurants in Mount Airy
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“We really liked it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

Three of us went in while doing the "Mayberry" tour. We were seated right away and ordered the pork chop sandwich, fully loaded. It was messy, but we really liked it. On the way out, there was a line out the door, but their turnover rate seemed to me to be fairly fast, so I don't imagine the wait would have been too long.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NuclearDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    169
    57
    23
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not a fan of the pork chop sandwich”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

We ordered the pork chop sandwich, fully loaded, because the waitress said that was the traditional way. Came with tomato, chili, and slaw. We left most of it on the plate.
But, we plan to come back and try some other things, because we have heard the breakfast is really good, as well as other lunch sandwiches.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SuperGrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
210 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Service, service, service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Snappy Lunch may be famous for their pork chop sandwich, but the best thing here is the service! This is a seat yourself, diner-type place with basic sandwiches on the lunch menu. Nothing fancy. I had the BLT and hubby had the bologna (we were both reliving our childhoods). Both were homemade-good.

Our waitress checked on us and refilled frequently (the cups were the smaller size and I would have preferred a little larger drink, however). The lady who made/delivered the sandwiches even checked on us!

Prices were reasonable, atmosphere was small town 1950's as expected. But the service and the friendliness is what makes this little place star quality.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bwodom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia Coast, Georgia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

We came up to see Betty Lynn aka Thelma Lou so we ate at Snappy the famous pork chop sandwich was a let down. Fell apart was cold my husband had the hamburger a thin piece of meat on a bun.The do not use plates you get it wrap in wax paper. Will never go back here again

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good basic breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

This little joint has a great location and history related to the Andy Griffith show. Although there was not a lot of choice, the breakfast was tasty and filling.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snappy Lunch also viewed

 

Been to Snappy Lunch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing