We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pork Chop Sandwich”
Review of Snappy Lunch

Snappy Lunch
Ranked #2 of 101 Restaurants in Mount Airy
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Hinton, West Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pork Chop Sandwich”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Stepped back in history when we visited the Snappy Lunch of course had the Pork Chop Sandwich which is still bigger than the bun. It is a real treat to visit any time we are in the area. A must see place in Mt.Airy.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank steelcurtain36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    178
    60
    23
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mt airy
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An unfortunate experience for an overpriced, average sandwich.”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

I have heard nothing but praise for Snappy lunch and the famous pork chop sandwich. Unfortunately, my visit started off waiting outside in a line to eat for over 30 mins. I figured I might as well stay...after all, if it was packed that tightly, it must be incredible. After sitting and being asked my order twice, the food was unappetizing. The pork chop is dipped in a pancake batter and fried. I had to take the breading off after two bites. The amount of grease was alarming. When I was leaving I was told that you could ask for a pork chop without breading which would have been nice to know!! Be careful and know what you are order if you go to Snappy Lunch. As for me, I will not be returning.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ChelseaA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
113 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“We can now say we had the "sandwich"”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We ate at Snappy Lunch for the first time on our first visit to Mt Airy. We ordered the "famous" pork chop sandwich with slaw and chili on it. I was surprised how the pork was battered with a pancake like dough instead of the usual flour. It was so big we ordered an extra bun and split it...we had it with Tom's Chips. It was good, it was not wonderful but good enough I would order it again...and what a reasonable price..we both ate for less than 6 bucks! Loved the atmosphere and decor.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KimStephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Lunch Sandwich”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

This pounded/tenderized pork chop dipped in pancake mix is one of the greatest sandwiches I've ever had. I paid for it but I could just stop at one.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sully1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poplar Bluff, Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“trip complete with snappy diner”
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

We can now say we had lunch in mayberry. We had breakfast for 10.00. There are lots of pictures to look at and the locals had lots to tell us about Andy. A must see you won't want to miss.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank bandit44803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snappy Lunch also viewed

 

Been to Snappy Lunch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing