We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique natural formation worth seeing!”
Review of Pilot Mountain

Pilot Mountain
Ranked #1 of 33 things to do in Mount Airy
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Great views of the countryside may be enjoyed from the summit.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Unique natural formation worth seeing!”
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Take the exit off Hwy 52 at the brown state park sign just north of King, NC. The entrance is right there which winds to the top of the ridge. There is a huge parking lot and restrooms. There are 3 or 4 platforms which allow safe and easy access to the vistas. Take the short walk to view the "knob", and to the lower left there is the entrance to the nice loop trail which circles the "Knob". Most of it is level and it is less than a mile around. This is a nice side trip if you are passing through the area.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Meddo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    85
    9
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
King, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful Views”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

It doesn't matter what your outdoor interest is; bird watching, hiking, walking, photography, you can do all of these things at this park. It is conveniently located right off of highway 52 and just takes minutes to get to the top. Be sure to pack a lunch if you plan on staying long because they only have a snack machine. Clean restrooms and a water fountain are located right at the parking area. They also have different trails for different levels of walking or hiking. The best part of it all is that its free admission. Plan to spend some time to visit Mt. Airy too which is just a short trip up highway 52. You wont be sorry.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kyomitaone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemmons, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Come for the cruise in!”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We always go for the cruise in on the first Saturday of every month. Great family experience seeing the historical downtown Pilot mtn with cool classic cars cruising the strip and live beach music. Try to hit up the shops while your here especially the antique store, you will love Cookie that runs it. Oh and if your hungry you have to stop by Soppers, every meal I've ever had here has been delicious with great sevice.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rhymerfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful Park”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Liked hiking the short trail to see the mountain. Would have liked to have hiked the longer trail up to the top, but we did not have time to do that on this trip. Plan to go back to see more of the area.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 01FeisMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Easy access (if you use the right address for your GPS)”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We had some time to fill before we left the area and wanted to go to the top of the mountain. Googled the address and away we went. After 40 minutes of country roads, we were flagged down by a group of international travelers looking for the same place. Apparently both of us had used the address for the Canoe Access entry at the State Park. This was our fault, not their's, but I just wanted other travelers to be aware there are two entrances that are about 40 minutes of travel time apart. Other than that, this was a nice little side trip. Once we reached the correct entrance, there is a ranger station with information (which we didn't use, so I won't comment on that part) and then a short drive to a parking lot just below the top of the mountain. We were with some elderly travelers, so we didn't do the short hike to the very top of the mountain, but there is an easily accessible overlook from the parking lot with very impressive views of the surrounding countryside. I would like to go back sometime when we can hike the trails.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank NuclearDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pilot Mountain also viewed

 

Been to Pilot Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing