We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for travelers with dogs”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Mount Airy
Southport, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good for travelers with dogs”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We recently stayed here for 1 night. We chose Quality Inn because we were traveling with our dog and they allow pets. Pets are limited to a small number of rooms at the rear of the inn. I think this is a good idea for people with and without pets. We were able to walk our dog in an area behind the inn out of sight of most of the inn. The rooms are okay but nothing to rave about. My only complaint is that the breakfast area is too small to handle a large number of people. We ate here on a Saturday morning with a large number of people headed to the beaches of NC. There were shortages of everything, including food and utensils, and no one available to help. I would stay here again if traveling with a pet. Other than the problems at breakfast this is a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ward416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    73
    42
    17
    11
See reviews for
59
77
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Stopped in without a reservation and was dealt with swiftly by a friendly front desk associate. The hotel is a 2 story multible building complex close to fast food restaurants. The room was clean, quiet, and great for an overnite stay. The breakfast provided was ample and checkout was simple. This is a convenient location in what looked like a very safe area. No complaints, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bartman54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed here for just one night on the way through to the Blue Ridge Mountains. It was clean and well maintained...the staff friendly. The room was comfortable enough, beds okay. However, the breakfast bar was very good, great coffee, fresh fruit, eggs, bisquits and gravy. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I have stayed here a number of time and find the rooms to be clean and comfortable.
Staff is friendly and accomodating. The morning complimentary breakfast is one of the best
I have had.There are a number of restaurants nearby for various sorts of dining.

Room Tip: Back rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Room was old and needed up grading. The pillows were awful. There was a party going on in the parking lot. So it was noisy on the back side of the motel. Breakfast was typical and not bad. Staff was helpful.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank joni c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Stopped here overnight because it was near my route during a move that allowed pets.
Was rushed through my check-in so fast I could hardly keep up with what the lady was telling me. She was speed-talking, I'm assuming because there was another person waiting behind me.
Room was large with king size bed, Although the place is a bit dated, the room was pretty clean with the exception of a used crusty wash cloth draped over the curtain rod. The Room was equipped with a fridge and microwave.
My AT&T cell service was nearly dead in this area and the hotel wi-fi was not working properly. I could connect to their wi-fi but it wouldn't assign my devices an IP address -hence no internet.. When confronting the front desk, I was told it must be my devices and advised to check them again basically blowing me off and stating they don't have any IT people on site. I explained I didn't have much cell either and she said I must have Verizon because everyone complains they can't get service here. I told her I had AT&T and that I'm barely getting a signal and now they can't get me wi-fi either.
Was told at check-in that there was always hot coffee available 24x7 but when checking in, the coffee was barely warm. I woke early a half hour before breakfast to get coffee and the coffee was about room temperature. I think it was the same coffee during my check-in.
A lady was preparing breakfast so I asked if she was brewing any coffee and got a cold response that there might be some in about 15 minutes. I decided to just walk to the circle K and get some fresh coffee which was likely going to be better anyway.
On the bright side, my wi-fi was suddenly working in the morning without me doing anything to my devices.
Card swipe took about 20 swipes before finally unlocking door in the morning.
Wasn't any people staying next door to me or above me so I can't speak of noise issues.
Overall, I was disappointed with the service but OK with the room and would likely consider other places if ever in this area again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wonderin_y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherokee, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Have stayed at this location on several occasions with satisfactory results beyond our wishes.On one occasion, we had a bathroom light go out--within literally minutes, the friendly maintenance gentleman was there to assist and resolve our problem. The rooms have always been clean, freshly scented, and inviting. The staff is like family from the moment you check in --which is done immediately as you enter the front doors. The breakfast offered is quite ample and fresh--and the coffee is available 24 hrs. a day. This location deserves a 5 star rating with anyone. Please do check this location out on your next trip to the area. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: As this location sits back from main highway (#601)--all rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wolf19752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Airy
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
#4 of 8 in Mount Airy
185 reviews
7.1 mi away
Best Western Bryson Inn
Best Western Bryson Inn
#2 of 8 in Mount Airy
595 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
#1 of 8 in Mount Airy
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South
10.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#1 of 2 in Pilot Mountain
45 reviews
10.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Dobson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Property: Quality Inn
Address: 2136 Rockford St, Mount Airy, NC 27030-5206 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Mount Airy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Mount Airy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Quality Inn, a Mount Airy hotel near the North Carolina Granite Quarry. The Quality Inn hotel is conveniently located just three miles from the North Carolina Granite Quarry. This Mount Airy Hotel is close to many Yadkin Valley vineyards, including Black Wolf Vineyards, Shelton Vineyards, Elk Run Vineyards and Old North State Winery. The Blue Ridge Parkway is just 14 miles away. Mount Airy is the birthplace of Andy Griffith. Visitors are invited to step back to a simpler time. A stroll down Main Street in the Friendly City will remind people of the town of Mayberry. Fans of The Andy Griffith Show can visit Floyd’s City Barber Shop, Old Mayberry Jail, Snappy Lunch and Andy’s childhood home. At nearby Hanging Rock State Park, visitors will find boating, fishing, swimming, hiking, rock climbing and picnic areas. Golf courses and tennis courts are also close by. A variety of restaurants, cocktail lounges and specialty shops are located in the surrounding area. This Mount Airy hotel offers full-service amenities and features, including a free continental breakfast and free coffee and cappuccino. Guests will enjoy relaxing in the seasonal outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn, Mount Airy, Nc Hotel Mount Airy
Mount Airy Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing