We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better make it a 1 night stay!”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Mount Airy
Reviewed March 4, 2013

My whole AAU basketball team stayed there for 1 night March 2-3rd. I knew what to expect from a 2 star hotel in terms of bedding, furnishing, quality of washclothes/towels etc, however, one thing I do expect is cleanliness. I heard one of the parents, state that they found candy wrappers in their room that didnt come from her child, and she had the staff come change the sheets, reclean etc. I also had what looked like a toothpaste stain on the carpet, the sink had residue in it, there was a Lean Cuisine meal in the refrigerator that did not belong to me, there was plastic from the cups behind the refrigerator that I had not opened and the tile in the bathroom was darkly stained in the grout where a thorough cleaning hadnt been done in a while. There was also a candy wrapper and a penny in the desk chair upon arrival. As a travel agent, I knew that this was an exterior entrance hotel, which I never stay in but because of availability in the area I grabbed a group of rooms, but I will not do it again. I did in all fairness not ask the front desk to remedy any of these things, because I expect those types of things to be done before I arrive. This is definitely a one night situation!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sparklesjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 197 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2012

I use Quality Inn almost every week for my job. This one is quiet, clean, and the staff is nice. The manager will go out of his way to make sure your stay is comfortable. I had an iron that decided to quit working when I went to use it. The manager was on the spot and replaced it with a new one. If you are passing through "Mayberry", check out this Quality Inn as your hotel.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
Thank Kacellet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I will never stay at this motel again. I was over-charged and the owner/operator has refused to make the bill right. When I made my reservation, I was given the rate of $67.49 per night. However, when I checked out, they over-charged me; he upped the rate to $116.99 per night (giving me the lower rate on just one night). I did not notice the over-charge until I received my credit card statement. They have refused to correct the bill. Watch out!!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
4  Thank mayberryhomegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stay in a number of Choice Hotels using Choice Rewards, and often have to take whatever is there. In the last few years, some of the Quality Inn properties have been a little "past prime." We didn't expect any different at the Quality Inn in Mount Airy, NC, on our trip from Georgia up through the Blue Ridge Parkway to PA. Along the way we stayed at other hotels that we paid handily for. However, the "Q Bed" in this hotel was the best bed of the trip. The "premium mattress and bedding" with high-thread-count cotton sheets was wonderfully luxurious and comfortable, and I slept great. Really a treat, and the hotel was clean and well-kept throughout. Thanks for the very pleasant surprise!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bit of a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanager41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed here 9/16/12 for 1 night. Room was mostly clean except for carpet. Beds were comfortable for a good nights sleep. There were a few items I didn't like. Ice Bucket had black mold on inside of lid, bannister at bottom of 2nd bldg. front on stairs to 2nd floor was loose and made me uncomfortable going up stairs. We went to breakfast, which was 6 - 9 AM, around 8 and some items were out and very slow to refill or just out. Check in & out were good.

Room Tip: Try to get 1st floor is you are not comfortable with loose stair rails to 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susiq106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

We stay here every time we visit Mt Airy and have always had good experiences. The is an older hotel but has always been nice and rooms very clean!!! Staff was also very nice! They also have free continental breakfast each morning!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alh2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We have been traveling through Virginia and North Carolina for the last 10 days. We started out staying in Best Westerns but were not happy with most of the places we stayed. We switched to Quality Inns because they seem better. This one was not so good. The carpet was damp when we checked in and the room smelled musky. We figured they had cleaned the carpets. There was also Knats flying in the room. When I checked out I mentioned these things to the girl at the desk. She stated that the rugs had not been cleaned and said she was sorry for the condition of the room.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whitewing94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Airy
1 mi away
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
#4 of 8 in Mount Airy
195 reviews
7.1 mi away
Best Western Bryson Inn
Best Western Bryson Inn
#2 of 8 in Mount Airy
645 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
#1 of 8 in Mount Airy
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South
10.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#1 of 2 in Pilot Mountain
45 reviews
20.6 mi away
Quality Inn Hillsville
Quality Inn Hillsville
#7 of 8 in Hillsville
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 2136 Rockford St, Mount Airy, NC 27030-5206 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Mount Airy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Mount Airy
Price Range: $71 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Quality Inn, a Mount Airy hotel near the North Carolina Granite Quarry. The Quality Inn hotel is conveniently located just three miles from the North Carolina Granite Quarry. This Mount Airy Hotel is close to many Yadkin Valley vineyards, including Black Wolf Vineyards, Shelton Vineyards, Elk Run Vineyards and Old North State Winery. The Blue Ridge Parkway is just 14 miles away. Mount Airy is the birthplace of Andy Griffith. Visitors are invited to step back to a simpler time. A stroll down Main Street in the Friendly City will remind people of the town of Mayberry. Fans of The Andy Griffith Show can visit Floyd’s City Barber Shop, Old Mayberry Jail, Snappy Lunch and Andy’s childhood home. At nearby Hanging Rock State Park, visitors will find boating, fishing, swimming, hiking, rock climbing and picnic areas. Golf courses and tennis courts are also close by. A variety of restaurants, cocktail lounges and specialty shops are located in the surrounding area. This Mount Airy hotel offers full-service amenities and features, including a free continental breakfast and free coffee and cappuccino. Guests will enjoy relaxing in the seasonal outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn, Mount Airy, Nc Hotel Mount Airy
Mount Airy Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing