We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Andy's Homeplace-one in a lifetime stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Mount Airy
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Mount Airy
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New Jersey
Level Contributor
152 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Andy's Homeplace-one in a lifetime stay”
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We were lucky to stay one night at Andy Griffith's actual childhood home which is part of the Hampton Inn property. We enjoyed take out in Andy's kitchen, watching AG show DVD's in the living room, and reading all the articles displayed throughout the home. Felt like celebs ourselves with all the tour buses and visitors stopping by for photos in the morning. Fun, nostalgic stay for baby boomers who grew up with the TV series!

Room Tip: You have the entire house ( 2 bedrooms, full kitchen) at your disposal when you stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stonewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    161
    40
    18
    2
See reviews for
256
256
28
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

We traveled to Mount Airy, NC and stayed three nights at the Hampton Inn in the middle of September 2011. This is a comfortable, clean, quiet motel (even though it was fully booked at the time we were there) with a friendly staff and excellent housekeeping. The room was spacious, the bed was comfortable and the breakfast was decent. For a chain motel, I have to say this Hampton exceeded our expectations and I would recommend it to anyone planning a trip to this part of North Carolina.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Britishcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Read previous reviews prior to making my booking .... each one is soooo true! This hotel is clean, well maintained with EXCELLENT customer service! My family and I drove from Canada on our way to Myrtle Beach - stayed here as a pit stop - we were tired and the hotel exceeded our expectations .... the breakfast is awsome ... selection of both hot and cold items on the menu --- well located close to restaurants and a Walmart for emeergencies!!!
Would highly recommend the hotel....

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nishferns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
184 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We enjoyed our one-night stay halfway through a Blue Ridge Parkway drive (less than 30 minutes down from the ridge, and back up again) at this excellent example of the US motel as it should be: a comfortable, albeit absolutely standard, room; a good breakfast buffet included in the room rate; and the bonus of decent complementary wine on arrival. The Ruby Tuesday branch five minutes walk up the road is an attractive place to eat.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

I've stayed in this hotel many times, and I cannot say enough good thing about it. The value is great for a room that I would call "luxurious." Staff are friendly. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

The Hampton is a mile or so outside the heart of Mount Airy, the quaint NC town that was the model for Mayberry, of the Andy Griffith Show. It sits back off the highway so it is not as noisy as some roadside hotels. The staff is very friendly and they keep things neat and clean. The rooms are nicely appointed and spacious. They provide a decent free breakfast which is adequate for most travelers needs. They have a small fitness center for basic exercise. I would use this hotel again for business or one night personal stays in this area. Excellent value if what you want is a place to stay the night.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms to the side or back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wizofwas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Simple, but tastefully decorated rooms. Soft, cozy color scheme, upholstered armchair, matching ottoman, reading lamp, micro, fridge, wide screen TV, warm wood furniture, and the most luxurious bedding I have ever slept in( Yeah, I'm really surprised too! Who knew?) Travel weariness just melts away under the silky, thick comforter! WOW. Friendly, helpful staff. breakfast in the morning, full length mirror on the closet door. Just a wonderful place to stop. One warning: the toilets are downright scary. Beware when you flush!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Airy
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Airy South
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
Comfort Inn Mount Airy
#4 of 8 in Mount Airy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
7.3 mi away
Best Western Bryson Inn
Best Western Bryson Inn
#2 of 8 in Mount Airy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn, Mount Airy
Quality Inn, Mount Airy
#6 of 8 in Mount Airy
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
11.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Dobson
18.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Elkin Jonesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Mount Airy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Mount Airy

Property: Hampton Inn Mount Airy
Address: 2029 Rockford St, Mount Airy, NC 27030-5203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Mount Airy
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Mount Airy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Mount Airy 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award Winning Hampton Inn Mt. Airy, NC. Our promise to you includes a clean, comfortable hotel room. In fact, we have 125 of them! If you're traveling with your family, you may opt for a room with two beds. Or, if you're here by yourself on business, why not book a room with a plush, king-sized bed so you can stretch out and relax? Either way we know you have a choice and we would love to be that choice. We want to be your friends in town so stop by and say hello because we love having you here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Mount Airy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Hotel Mount Airy
Mount Airy Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing