We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best chicken rice beans and plantains ever!”

Carmen's Cuban Cafe & Lounge
Ranked #2 of 154 Restaurants in Morrisville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Latin, Spanish, Cuban, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Margate, Florida
Level Contributor
87 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The best chicken rice beans and plantains ever!”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

As a south florida residentm, I am very familiar with good cuban food, and did not anticipate finding such in Morrisville, NC. Carmens was excellent, Well worth going from Chapel Hill to Morrisville for the food,.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jemmie33063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    67
    24
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food & convenient to airport”
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Ended up here due to a cancelled flight and glad it gave me the chance to try this place. Nice atmosphere, great music, and pretty good food. I was a little disappointed they were out of the dish I originally picked, but if I'm ever in the area again I wouldn't hesitate to return for a meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kydizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
Level Contributor
707 reviews
297 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 641 helpful votes
“Good choice for dinner close to the RDU airport”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Carmen's Cuban Cafe is a good choice for either lunch or dinner. The restaurant is located across from a deserted factory outlet mall, so it is a de facto destintion place. Parking is available in front as well as in the rear. When I arrived I was the only one there so the service was quick.

The menu was somewhat limited, however there was enough to satisfy most people (unless your a vegetarian). I decided to try the stuffed pork loin. The pork was very good, however the portion was too much for me to even come close to finishing. You definitely do not need an appetizer. They do serve garlic bread prior to your meal arriving.

The atmosphere and decor is basic, but still provides a nice overall experience. The staff was nice and did not have to wait long at any point during my dinner. I would recommend this restaurant if you are looking for a leisurely meal at a reasonable price.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wbullseye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moharaphd
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely experience!”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We went because we had a deal to get 3 miles per dollar spent... It was well worth it. The food was excellent and the portions very generous. I rarely finish a meal; my husband almost always does, but even he took some home. The bread they serve is unusual -- tastes garlicky, but it is as if they do some sort of egg / garlic wash -- at any rate, it was delicious.

I had ?? biliche merchado, which needed a little salt but was otherwise perfect. The main dishes are served with red or black beans, white or yellow rice and plantains or yucca. We plan on going back AND bringing friends.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moharaphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
390 reviews
250 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Great treat before a flight out. Food was great. Atmosphere is pretty basic and service was friendly but on the slow side.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edgingin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmen's Cuban Cafe & Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Carmen's Cuban Cafe & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing