We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely experience!”

Carmen's Cuban Cafe & Lounge
Ranked #2 of 155 Restaurants in Morrisville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
moharaphd
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely experience!”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We went because we had a deal to get 3 miles per dollar spent... It was well worth it. The food was excellent and the portions very generous. I rarely finish a meal; my husband almost always does, but even he took some home. The bread they serve is unusual -- tastes garlicky, but it is as if they do some sort of egg / garlic wash -- at any rate, it was delicious.

I had ?? biliche merchado, which needed a little salt but was otherwise perfect. The main dishes are served with red or black beans, white or yellow rice and plantains or yucca. We plan on going back AND bringing friends.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moharaphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    71
    25
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
390 reviews
250 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Great treat before a flight out. Food was great. Atmosphere is pretty basic and service was friendly but on the slow side.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edgingin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“As Traditional Cuban Food as one will get in the area!”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

You'd never believe it. My colleagues said it was true! They drove me to what looked like a dive and I said really? I walked in to this very clean restaurant in a nondescript small strip mall and thought, ok....but man what a meal!! The lunch specials are inexpensive, they give you tons to eat and it's all fresh and delicious. The garlic bread before the meal is a meal in itself! Fresh and delicious. I had the fried fish and it came fresh off the grill with fresh onion and yellow rice, black beans, absolutely delicious. My friends had pork and beef and we all thoroughly enjoyed our meals. No bells and whistles here, just the amazing food and eager waiters. I will be back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nygal5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Picadillo”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I have had Cuban before in several restaurants and the Picadillo here was excellent. The black beans and yellow rice was great also. The people were friendly and attentive. It is close to the airport and very accessible to the hotels.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Darrell E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania, USA
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Order take-out for our airport hotel. Delicious!”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The food was delicious. The menu does not mention 100% of the ingredients, though, which would have been helpful. We could not eat everything we purchased, as a result. I would recommend this to anyone.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank LoveToTravelWhenICan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmen's Cuban Cafe & Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Carmen's Cuban Cafe & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing