We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, friendly place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travinia

Travinia
Ranked #13 of 148 Restaurants in Morrisville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $32
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Seafood, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Handcrafted daily, fresh pasta, pizza, chicken, seafood, steak, veal and desserts. Extensive wine bar, gluten-free menu. Patio dining and fire pits.
United States
Level Contributor
653 reviews
476 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

After a rocky first visit, we have loved our 2nd, 3rd and 4th meals here - both dinner and lunch. It's a warm environment inside and has a nice outdoor bar and seating area. Salads are great, appetizers delicious (especially Italian Nachos and crab cakes) and a variety of entrees were enjoyed. Nice lunch menu too. We are grateful for this addition to our local dining options.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eat-Sleep-Walk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    52
    25
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
79 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“1st visit great, 2nd visit not so much...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

In fairness, my first visit a couple of months ago was very good. The food was delicious and the service was impeccable. That's the reason this review is not "poor". And in all fairness, I will give it another chance.

A Saturday night, wonderful weather, so my friend and I asked for outdoor seating. Wait was 25 min. but we could sit in the fire pit area outside and have appetizers and drinks. Sounded like a good idea. We found a seat and at least 15 min. later a waiter asked if we would like a drink. This was the conversation: "Well just tell me what you like and we may not have to do that." "OK, a red blend maybe?" "Don't think we have those" "OK, well a shiraz?" "Not sure we have those" "Well how about a cabernet?" "We have a lot of those. I will get you a menu." A few minutes later, I ordered a glass of shiraz and then, before my friend could order, the hostess said our table was ready. So we moved to our table thinking our drink order would be taken there. The same waiter greeted us at our table a few minutes later with menus and two glasses of the wine I had ordered! We were going to get a bottle, but I guess we weren't now.

I asked for the gluten free menu. "I'm not sure we have one." "You do, because I have been here before and have ordered from it." "Well just order from the regular menu because you can order ANYTHING and we can prepare it gluten free!" I was simply dumbfounded at this point! So to cut to the chase I ordered something I knew had been on the gluten free menu before, hoping it would be prepared as such and my friend ordered the sea bass. Mine was the Sinatra Chicken and it was just mediocre. The chicken was overcooked. The sea bass was inedible! It tasted like it had either been cooked in rancid oil or was just a bad piece of fish! You would have thought when his plate was removed from the table and almost the entire piece of fish was still there, someone would have asked??? Was something wrong with your meal???

So to sum up...This restaurant has a wonderful ambience inside and the outside eating area is perfect with two gas powered fire pits and seating for dinner. I want to love this place so I will go again. I hope my third visit lives up to the experience I had on my first visit. Two words of advice: Insist on the gluten free menu. They have a very, very good one! And stay clear of the nice, tall, bald headed waiter!!!

I wanted to email the manager before writing this review, but there was no contact information on the website. So I hope he reads this and makes a few changes. Maybe even have one waiter just to serve the people outside wanting drinks and appetizer...especially on busy nights.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bgood58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
238 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Good Italian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Had dinner here last night with 5 other business colleagues. The food was quite good. For starters, the fried lobster mac & cheese balls were very tasty. The bruschetta was below average, as it was mostly just tomatoes on bread. My main was the veal marsala, which was quite good. The veal was very tender and full of flavor. The pasta served with it could have used a little sauce on it (e.g., more of the marsala sauce). Very nice wine list with many choices below $40. Service was friendly and efficient.

They feature live music on Wednesday night, which was pretty good. It was just a little too loud at times, as we were trying to carry on some business discussion.

Overall, it was a good experience and Travinia is a nice addition to this part of Cary/Morrisville.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank glftrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
77 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“New restaurant - Great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Great atmosphere. The restaurant opened this summer and is very well designed. Others have also found this gem. It was very crowded around 7:30 - 8:00.
The Grouper piccata with risotto was outstanding - tender and flavorful. The service was knowledgeable and attentive. Definitely a place where I will return.
There is also valet parking which is helpful.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SouthernVoice10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
151 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Best crab cake ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

This place is good. I especially love the mussels and crab cake. The chicken scallopini is also wonderful and a large serving--well worth the money.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank xpatsuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Travinia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing