We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great flavor and pleasant atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mawa's Taste of Africa - CLOSED

Mawa's Taste of Africa
Cuisines: African
Restaurant details
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great flavor and pleasant atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Tried after friend recommended . Very much enjoyed. The food was full of flavored and spiced as requested. My mild dish was such and my husband loved his spicy. We will be back

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kjgkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    2
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Muncie, Indiana
Level Contributor
194 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great place even better with the groupon deal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We tried this restaurant as a part of a groupon deal and it was awesome...the food was fresh and spicy and the service was very welcome. Our group was not very familiar with African food and our server made some great suggestions.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Emjai1920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
405 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Great for lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

Went here with coworkers for lunch. Didn't know what to expect. I was amazingly impresses, both food and the service was personal and excellent. Would recommend this place if you want to try something new!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelalot724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“2nd time... equally as good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

The first time I went with my husband we got the sampler platter, shared Harira soup and each got an entree. We had a groupon and it was a great way to try the food. I liked it so much I went back last night with 3 friends. The soups are incredible - Harira is my favorite and Roon is a very close 2nd. The lamb is so tender and flavorful I have to remember to try it in an entree next time I go! I got the Accaras (black eyed pea fritters) to go with the soup. A very tasty and filling dinner on a cold rainy night. Everyone ordered different entrees and were very happy with them and said they'd be back as well. The food has such unique spices which is why I really enjoy it. It doesn't taste like anything I've ever had elsewhere and is fun.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingCass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

The food is amazing and it is very unique. Prices are friendly and so is the staff.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stauffermelissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mawa's Taste of Africa also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing