We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for what it is”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
HYATT house Raleigh Durham Airport
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Morrisville
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect for what it is”
Reviewed February 13, 2012

For the business traveller in Morrisville, this is a great spot. Recent construction means modern amenities, good water pressure, very clean overall. Gym is small but well equipped.

From a location perspective, good if your office is close. Nice and close to the airport.

Breakfast is typical business-traveller fare.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oogli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    120
    27
    9
    11
See reviews for
120
53
44
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake Beach, Maryland
Level Contributor
105 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Every once in a while, it's really nice to have all of your expectations exceeded. Fortunately for Hyatt Place, RDU, that is exactly what I can say.

I did not stay at this hotel previously, when it was a Hotel Sierra product, so I don't know how much (if anything) was done during the conversion from Sierra to Hyatt House. My gut tells me that this was a already a superior product that Hyatt acquired. If that is the case, well done to those in the Sierra history that helped build this foundation.

Check-in was smooth. I was reognized as a top-tier member (Diamond) of the Hyatt frequent stay program and thanked for my loyalty. I was offered bonus points for the stay or a complimentary beverage and food item from the self-serve pantry. I was generously upgraded from a studio to a 1 BR suite, which was very nice.

The suite was very comfortable. It had a nicely equipped kitchen area, work desk, living area with flat-panel TV. The bedroom was comfortable with a large flat-panel TV and a super comfy bed. The bathroom was just right, stocked generously with upgraded bath amenities. All items in the room were working and there was nothing I noted that needed touch-up or repair. The color tones are warm and modern and created an overall positive feeling in the hotel.

The common areas of the hotel were also quite nice. The bar area was elegant for a hotel of this type and there was a billiards table for use, as well. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful, offering quick service and well-made beverages. The complimentary breakfast offering was above average for an extended stay hotel that offers breakfast. There was an omlette station that offered regular, egg-white and egg substitute products as well as a nice buffet line of various food and beverages.

The pool area was closed, as it is seasonal, but it looked quite nice and offered a fire-pit. The fitness facility was of good quality, however the eliptical machines were not quite what I would like to see. If management is looking for areas that could be upgraded, that is my only observation during the stay. The machine did not feel very fluid and was a lower quality than others that I have become accustomed to. There were some dumbbell free weights and water and cool washcloths were provided.

Compared to the other extended stay Hyatt product, this hotel was a cut above all Hyatt Place and Summerfield Suites I have ever stayed at. It is my understanding that Hyatt is converting the Summerfield properties into Hyatt House brand. As they do that, my STRONG suggestion to corporate is to model the Hyatt House brand in-line with the quality product that used to be Hotel Sierra. I have been a Diamond member for about 10 years and have extensive experience with all Hyatt brands from Hyatt Place through Park Hyatt. HYATT CORPORATE: MATCH THIS PRODUCT THROUGHOUT HYATT HOUSE and you will significantly strengthen the brand in this portion of the market.

Well done by all on the staff! My compliments to all of you!

And for anyone that hasn't figured it out by now, if looking for an exceptionally comfortable extended stay or overnight option in the Raleigh-Durham airport area, look no further, Hyatt House RDU is the way to go!

Room Tip: The 1 BR suite is a nice upgrade for an extended stay and the kitchen area is nicely equipped--not j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheAviator2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

The rooms are extremely clean and comfortable with all the amenities needed. The breakfast options are also abundant - loved the fresh fruit and omelette station.

The rooms do seem a bit pricey for the area - $150/night with a corporate discount rate. There's not much in this area so you will need to drive further out for better dining options. Also, the hotel is across from the train tracks, which do run at night so bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emileeetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2012

I stayed at the Hyatt House at the recommendation of a client I was seeing in Raleigh Durham and had a very, very good stay. The hotel is modeled for a long-term stay so if you're looking for a hotel with room service and that's very important to you, this won't be your favorite place. I only stayed one night but what I experienced in that 24-hour stay was pretty impressive. I called them when I got in and they sent a shuttle right over to get me. The front desk people were pleasant and efficient and the place is attractive. My room had a big, comfortable bed and more amenities than I needed but certainly the basics, i.e. work area, connectivity, hair dryer, ironing board, etc. I was a little surprised to see a cord for the broadband connectivity since most places offer wireless connectivity these days but decided not to fuss with it and used my own hotspot instead so not sure how good that was. But everything I needed was there and comfortable and appealing. They have a bar with a little menu so we had dinner there with the bartender doubling as server. He was hopping but certainly pleasant and helpful. In the a.m., they provide a super range of breakfast options in a serve yourself buffet. A nice man in a blazer came through and asked how everything was. My colleagues and I had been offered by the hotel to take us over to our client in their shuttle, which was super nice of them. I had checked out and the driver noticed I had my suitcase and suggested they keep it there and that they'd come get me later and take me to the airport and bring the bag with them. Very proactive and appreciated! Later in the day, when I was ready to go to the airport, they did exactly as they said, brought the bag and dropped me at the airport. I really felt like they went above and beyond in how accommodating they were with their shuttle and personnel. Now, here's the kicker: The nice guy in the dining room was also the guy that drove us to our client and it turns out he's the general manager of the hotel! He couldn't have been nicer or more friendly and helpful. Another person drove me to the airport at the end of my stay and she just loves this guy, who clearly serves as an outstanding model to all who work there. She told me he fosters an environment where everyone is encouraged to just do whatever it takes for the customers to have a good experience. I'm only sorry I don't have his name, but I do believe his attitude is exemplary and that it's working for him at Hyatt House Raleigh Durham. It worked for me.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stouff-Ayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

The made-to-order eggs were great in the morning. There was a full breakfast spread included in the room rate; sausage, egg, juice, cereal, fruit. The bed was so comfy and the comforter was so soft, i didn't want to get out of bed. The TV swiveled to the bed or the couch. There isn't much by the hotel but malls and nearby towns are a short drive. The bartender at the time was nice to talk to although he wasn't quick to serve at first.

Room Tip: The front desk has printed directions to malls in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Stayed at the RDU Hotel Sierra on a recent business trip to Research Triangle area. It was only one night, wish it had been two! Check in was very efficient, staff friendly. Got a great room on the first floor, nicely appointed room with small kitchenette and great bathroom. The room had a really comfy bed, flat screen TV, was clean and modern. The hotel was very quiet, which I really appreciate because the biggest problem I encounter in hotels is noise!

The breakfast was beyond delicious. As others have said, this is a great value.

Location is great, close to airport, but not so close that planes are flying right over your head.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atomicdoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Not located with all the others next to airport. This one is 10 minutes away - secluded and quiet. Helpful staff. Free Internet at Business Center. Bar and Pool Table to boot. Free Full Breakfast. Room was well appointed and clean. Other restaurants within easy walking distance. Easy 3 star but 4 star too.

Room Tip: 1st floor next to gym was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XciteAdvertising
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morrisville hotels
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Raleigh Durham Airport
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Raleigh-Durham Airport
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Raleigh International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Raleigh-Durham Airport
1.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Raleigh Durham Airport
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh-Durham Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house Raleigh Durham Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Raleigh Durham Airport

Property: HYATT house Raleigh Durham Airport
Address: 10962 Chapel Hill Rd, Morrisville, NC 27560-8852 (Formerly Hotel Sierra Raleigh Durham Airport)
Location: United States > North Carolina > Morrisville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Morrisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Raleigh Durham Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Raleigh Durham Airport Hotel Sierra blends cozy chic with the convenience of guest-empowered travel thru intelligent design, stress-free service and free-flowing amenities. Its 141 smartly designed suites feature flat panel TVs, MP3 docking stations and waffle terry bathrobes while free details include breakfast with made-to-order omelets, Starbucks brewed coffee and WI-FI throughout. Sample small plates, sip and socialize at the HBAR or alfresco patio complete with fire pit and lounge seating. Conveniently located right off Interstate 540 just minutes from Research Triangle Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your HYATT house Raleigh Durham Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing