We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine hotel but very very bad location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cambria hotel & suites Raleigh-Durham Airport
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Morrisville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fine hotel but very very bad location”
Reviewed November 9, 2009

The hotel is fine... Nice decor, clean, two LCD TVs in each room, one of the nicest hotel showers I've used, but the location couldn't be worse. On the night of my arrival I could not find the place. Turns out there is a dark, poorly marked turn right in front of the entrance to the RDU airport that, if missed, sends you on a 10minute jaunt around the airport. This is incredibly maddening! The turn is very poorly marked and so dark it looks like a private driveway. So you may be thinking, but this is a tripadvisor best value this guy probably doesn't know how to follow directions... but then there's the other problem with this location. You get woken up every morning by the deafening sound of jets taking off overhead. I am not a light sleeper, and I even tried running the fan in the room, but to no avail... everyday, an early morning wakeup call! I cannot recommend this hotel. Actually, I would urge you to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HnYMnR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolinamanagement, Public Relations Manager at Cambria hotel & suites Raleigh-Durham Airport, responded to this review, April 15, 2010
Dear HnYMnR,
We are truly sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant stay with us. We are always looking for your thoughts, comments and suggestions to provide an excellent stay to each and every guest. We are currently working on improving the signage on the way to the hotel so that there will not be another guest that gets lost trying to find it. Our DOT signage has been approved and will be installed in a couple of weeks. We are truly sorry for the inconvenience that this caused you. We take pride in our hotel and we want our guests to have the best experience possible so we hope that our friendly staff and comfortable room were able to enhance your stay with us. We are truly sorry that you had a difficult stay with us but we hope that you will give us another chance!

Yours in hospitality,
Cambria Suites Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    104
    33
    10
    22
See reviews for
137
93
62
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Midwest
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2009

We enjoyed our stay at this modern, clean hotel. Would definately stay here again! Only negative was that the hallways were not air conditioned and you step out of your room and be blasted by the hot July heat.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Konatide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolinamanagement, Public Relations Manager at Cambria hotel & suites Raleigh-Durham Airport, responded to this review, April 15, 2010
Dear Konatide,
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are always listening to suggestions and comments given by guests and we really appreciate you taking the time to tell us your thoughts. We were having a problem with the Air Conditioning unit on the 3rd and 4th floor hallway and we have since then fixed that problem. One of the HVAC units had stopped working and we had it fixed within a couple of weeks. We truly appreciate you letting us know so that we could quickly fix the problem. We are very proud of our customer service and our brand new modern hotel. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our hotel and we understand that you have many options in terms of lodging and we are pleased that you have chosen us as the hotel of your choice. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Sincerely,
Cambria Suites Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindseyraby
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Cambria Suites was a suprising find. I had never heard of Cambria, but booked it based on the star rating and pictures. The entire stay was wonderful! The people, the room, the fitness room, the decor, all of it - wonderful. It was defintiely a find - especially for the price. (They really could charge more.)

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lindseyraby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2009

First time a member of our family stayed at a Cambria! Great hotel at a great price. My daughter got engaged while staying there! Clean, upscale without ridiculous upscale hotel prices, loved the 2 tvs in each room, modern decor, top natch friendly staff! You can't go wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lmsullivan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2009

I stay in a lot of hotels, including the Hilton in Durham. This place far surpassed my expectations. Excellent, attentive service!! Nicely designed atrium and rooms. Very high tech. Bed and pillows extremely comfortable. Room was very spacious. Because the place is new, everything works. Only drawback is proximity to airport, which means some noise from jets. Will definitely stay here during my regular trips to NC.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Quotidian09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2009

It's hard not to like a new hotel and even though the Cambria Suites has been open for 9 months (according to a member of the staff), it feels as though it debuted yesterday. From the grounds to the lobby to the rooms, the place is immaculate and features contemporary design details that are current but tasteful. From a design perspective, the interior is most certainly current and modern, though not at all gaudy. A full-service restaurant offers a nice menu of items throughout the day and into the evening and additional amenities, including a beautiful patio and indoor pool enhance the overall experience. The rooms are beautiful for a mid-price establishment--and in fact, everything is beautiful for a hotel in this category. I'll go as far as to say that I've never experienced such exceptional value as I received at this hotel. The spacious suite offered a comfortable king size bed, two flat-screen TVs (one in the bedroom part of the suite and the other in a cozy lounge area.) The desk area was conducive to productivity (and offered both complimentary wireless and wired internet access) and the bathroom was elegant and functional. I'll agree with a fellow reviewer that the hallways are hot (perhaps they save money on air conditioning them--which was fine with me), though the climate control in the rooms and the lobby was perfect. With regard to the staff, each member of the Cambria team was energetic, positive and accommodating. They recommended a great nearby spot for some lunch and furnished me with corresponding directions and they seemed genuinely interested in my level of satisfaction with my stay. The proximity to the airport is unbeatable, given that it's about a 60 second drive to the airport entrance--though you wouldn't know it while there (it's nicely secluded and the occasional sound of an airplane taking off isn't disruptive.) In short, I enjoyed a wonderful stay at this property and look forward to my next trip to the Raleigh area so that I can stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelingFleece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2009

We were very impressed with this hotel. Our room was a spacious suite. The staff was very helpful in recommending a near-by restaurant (Babymoon Cafe-great Italian food). The hotel shuttle was great for going to the restaurant and airport. Our only complaint was that our hallway was very hot. Other than that we had a great stay. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who would fly out of RDU airport.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank reneerose77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morrisville
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Raleigh International Airport
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Raleigh-Durham Airport
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Raleigh-Durham Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Raleigh-Durham Airport/Brier Creek
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Raleigh Durham Airport
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh-Durham Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambria hotel & suites Raleigh-Durham Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambria hotel & suites Raleigh-Durham Airport

Property: Cambria hotel & suites Raleigh-Durham Airport
Address: 300 Airgate Dr, Morrisville, NC 27560-8492
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Morrisville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Morrisville
#3 Family Hotel in Morrisville
#5 Romantic Hotel in Morrisville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambria hotel & suites Raleigh-Durham Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located one mile from the Raleigh-Durham International Airport (RDU), the Cambria Suites® Raleigh-Durham Airport hotel is the perfect place to stay for business and leisure travelers. Cambria Suites hotel provides easy access to major cities like Raleigh, Cary and Durham. We are within minutes of Research Triangle Park. The Raleigh-Durham area is home to several companies such as Cisco, Glaxo SmithKline, IBM, Lenovo, CSFB, NetApp, Fidelity Investments, PPD and Quintiles. The Cambria Suites, RDU Airport hotel is thoughtfully designed to offer business and leisure travelers select amenities that will make anyone feel pampered, including: Barista coffee bar in the lobby, featuring Wolfgang Puck coffee, Indoor pool with spa, State-of-the-art fitness center, Contemporary Reflect bistro-style restaurant serving breakfast and dinner, Sundry shop, open 24 hours a day, seven days a week, Full service bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cambria hotel & suites Raleigh-Durham Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambria Suites Raleigh-Durham Airport Hotel Morrisville
Cambria Suites Morrisville
Choice Raleigh Durham Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing