We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smokin chicken” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Judge's Riverside Restaurant

Judge's Riverside Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 107 Restaurants in Morganton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Beyond great food, Judge's Riverside has a great atmosphere. From the wood and stone materials inside to the decks and serene river view outside, you'll enjoy more than just the taste. Click the images below to learn more...
Hudson, NC
Level Contributor
85 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Smokin chicken”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Four of us sat riverside for dinner. The weather was perfect and Mosquitos absent. Two of us had sandwiches and two of us had entrees. Two of us had smoked chicken - one in a sandwich and one the half chicken main course. My spouse is a real flounder lover and liked the lightly battered crispy fried founder main course. My smoked chicken was delicious and the serving large. The sweet potato fries and the red coleslaw are always a hit. Our server was quite busy and took a while to bring things we requested after placing our main order. We were in no hurry and the setting was very pleasant.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    91
    26
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Neat on the river”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

Liked the scenery on the banks of the river with its outside seating and serene atmosphere. Went for lunch and the sandwich was a great club and the fries were handcut and seasoned just right.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food & great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

Came here with the family and we all enjoyed our food. Fresh, good home cooking. Beautiful restaurant by the river. Friendly staff and managers who love to make sure their customers are happy. Ordered a banana foster for dessert and it was the absolute best! Definitely recommend. Our favorite restaurant when we have to come to Morganton!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelchique1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Amazing! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

This is the 3rd time I have been to Judge's and it gets better every time! We have always spent time chatting with the head chef and taste testing the food we are curious about. It doesn't take too long yo get your food and when you do, it's well worth the little bit of a wait you have! If you have any issues, they handle them right away. I will continue to come here with my family!

Helpful?
Thank Lindsay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good BBQ, Great View, Poor Management”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

We had dinner at judges recently, and while the BBQ is very good (especially the ribs), the restaurant is poorly managed. Our food took almost an hour to be delivered. This is BBQ - most of the meat is cooked hours earlier. I have eaten at a lot of local BBQ joints, and I have never had to wait more than 15 minutes for food. Along with the long wait for food there were missing items, etc. The waitress was very nice, just not very efficient. The rest of the operation is also unorganized - I couldn't find anyone to ring us up when I went to pay, and there were about 8 people milling about by the door, waiting for someone to get them a table. The restaurant was not busy when we were there, and there seemed to be a lot of employees about, but the place is just not run well. They need a good manager to take over and run the place well. I was hoping to make Judges a regular lunch stop, but I don't have a 90 minute lunch break.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Macdaddy18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Judge's Riverside Restaurant also viewed

Morganton, North Carolina Mountains
Morganton, North Carolina Mountains
 
Morganton, North Carolina Mountains
Morganton, North Carolina Mountains
 
Morganton, North Carolina Mountains
Morganton, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Judge's Riverside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing