We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much food for the money!”

Jake's Wayback Hamburgers
Ranked #7 of 110 Restaurants in Morganton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
294 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“So much food for the money!”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I ordered the #1 which was supposed to be a Jr burger, small fries and a drink and that is for $4.75. For a Jr burger it was more than enough for me, and the small fries, the word small isn't the correct term to describe how many fries I got, there were so many fries!
The sweet tea was perfect no bitter taste that some tend to have. I didn't get a shake though they looked plenty tasty.
I wish they would use real mayonnaise, on my burger it was't that big a deal since I use ketchup too, but I am one of those few that likes to dip my fries in mayo and the first bite was so sweet! Sure enough HFCS was listed as an ingredient...no need for sweetness in mayo, that's called salad dressing (like Miracle Whip) which isn't what was on the packet.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Valerie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    28
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lenoir, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great milkshakes and burgers”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Better than fast food joints. Burgers are cooked when you order. Milkshakes are served in the same stainless steel cup they are made in.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Monroe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hildebran, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“better than fast food at a fast food price”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Best place to get a hamburger or veggie burger! Try the onion rings they do not disappoint! Service with a smile and kids love it. A good, quick, easy meal at a great price. What more could you ask for??

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank phiarbholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“When you need a good burger...”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Jake's isn't here to provide elegant dining, but is here to provide a darn good burger. Not only are they freshly made, but you have a variety of toppings to personalize your sandwich. The sides are good to, and the workers make you feel welcome. If you just need a burger fix, try here.
By the way, the hot dogs are good, too.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank dflom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morganton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Ok food just a burger joint”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

A lot of people like the shakes here but I do not. They are just syrup based shakes no real fruit. Burgers are ok nothing spectacular. I enjoy the fries here the most. Wish the place had wifi. Never take away the squeeze bottles of ketchup at the tables we enjoy this a lot. We usually decorate our fries.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ariel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jake's Wayback Hamburgers also viewed

Morganton, North Carolina Mountains
Morganton, North Carolina Mountains
 
Morganton, North Carolina Mountains
Morganton, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Jake's Wayback Hamburgers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing