We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing grits croutons!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wisteria Southern Gastropub

Wisteria Southern Gastropub
Ranked #2 of 107 Restaurants in Morganton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A contemporary southern farm-to-table restaurant that uses locally sourced products, with a fully stocked pub featuring a seasonal cocktail menu and an extensive craft beer list.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing grits croutons!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

You must get the Caesar salad with the grits croutons...amazing!! The menu changes but I also had the pork osso buco that only needed a fork to pull it apart and the macaroni and cheese is delicious. Service was great. Will definitely go back on our next visit!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank tlldreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    44
    8
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morganton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

We moved to the area this summer and chose Morganton, partly, because it had Wisteria. Not many places down here are conscious of where the food comes from, it's wonderful to have a restaurant that has an emphasis on locally sourced food that is produced in a sustainable manner. It also doesn't hurt that the beer list is long and the pub downstairs has a great atmosphere. We come here often.

A bit amused at the comments of how "expensive" it is since we were shocked at the low prices on our first visit. Definitely not big city prices (at least not any big city I've been to).

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Meghan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, North Carolina
2 reviews
“BR21”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

If you go, don't be in a hurry! Waited for a hour plus for our food. Food was above average, a little pricey. It will be a while before we return

Helpful?
Thank Rob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morganton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Food was good. Service excellent. Prices like you are dinning in a big city restaurant. Too expensive.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chispita234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

I can't say enough good things about this special little find in Morganton! Excellent all the way around!
Thank you!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WineSpectator4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wisteria Southern Gastropub also viewed

Morganton, North Carolina Mountains
Morganton, North Carolina Mountains
 
Morganton, North Carolina Mountains
Morganton, North Carolina Mountains
 
Morganton, North Carolina Mountains
Morganton, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Wisteria Southern Gastropub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing