We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Gem”

Wisteria Southern Gastropub
Ranked #2 of 110 Restaurants in Morganton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A contemporary southern farm-to-table restaurant that uses locally sourced products, with a fully stocked pub featuring a seasonal cocktail menu and an extensive craft beer list.
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Real Gem”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

My SO and I had dinner at the restaurant portion of this establishment and watched the Super Bowl from the basement pub. Everything was great! Nice ambiance upstairs and attentive staff. I can't say enough about the food - from the fresh oysters to the trout main course, this food rates five stars in anyone's book. It was a small but very enthusiastic group watching the Super Bowl in the pub, but it was a great venue for watching. I must especially compliment Meridith Potter for her assistance that night. I will be back as often as I get to Morganton.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank George L P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    45
    9
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morganton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Changes”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I wrote a somewhat negative review of Wisteria after it first opened based on eating there twice. What changes they have made! The menu has changed and I had a hard time choosing what to eat because everything on the menu sounded delicious. We have been back twice since then and every time the food and the experience was completely outstanding. Everything was fresh, cooked to perfection, and piping hot from the kitchen. Thanks Obie, you're doing great!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SueMK_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delightful Restaurant”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

My husband and I ate at Wisteria for the first time, based on recommendation from friends. We found all aspects of our experience outstanding. My husband ordered a hamburger with a side of cheese grits and a Caesar salad. I had the meatloaf with Vidalia onion gravy and a side of buttermilk mashed potatoes. All were delicious! We also enjoyed cornsticks served with a variety of butters. Our server (Charlene) was so helpful and personable. The desserts sounded decadent, but we were too full to try them. We will go back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
123 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Best food in Morganton”
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

I was curious to see what the new owners had done with the venue...and I was more than pleased with the results. The restaurant uses all locally grown produce and meats to fill its exceptionally well-priced menu. The staff is very friendly and quite contentious about all of your needs. We had a wonderful family dinner and I highly recommend that you try it (the pork chop was outstanding). Enjoy!

Helpful?
Thank alleydw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connellys Springs, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Welcome Addition To Downtown Dining”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

My wife and I love going to Downtown Morganton and catching Dinner and a movie. It is such a beautiful Town Square, a lovely atmosphere.

We went to Wisteria for the first time and it immediately became our favorite restaurant in Morganton. We LOVED it!

We enjoyed the Fired Green Tomatoes on a bed of grits, I wish I could describe what else was on this masterpiece, but we devoured it too quickly
.
I ordered the meatloaf which was outstanding, and the wifey had the Low Country Chicken Bog which we found tasty as well.

Seasonal Menu, all local ingredients on the menu. Morganton is very, very luck to have an establishment of this caliber on it's town Square.

Well Done Wisteria!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Thedaveman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wisteria Southern Gastropub also viewed

Morganton, North Carolina Mountains
Morganton, North Carolina Mountains
 
Morganton, North Carolina Mountains
Morganton, North Carolina Mountains
 
Morganton, North Carolina Mountains
Morganton, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Wisteria Southern Gastropub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing