We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smelly room”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Sleep Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sleep Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Morganton
Sanford, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Smelly room”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

The "non-smoking" room smelled like there had been a smoking marathon in there before I got there. There was no non smoking sign on the door, but the front desk said it was a non smoking. Their solution was to give me a bottle of spray disenfectant to spray on the drapes and bed covers. It helped, not much, but some. I had made 3 trips with stuff into the room and wasn't in the mood to change rooms, which they offered to do. Desk clerk was friendly when she wasn't talking on her cell phone...Breakfast room was a joke, looked like a refurbished closet, small tables were in the lobby area. Selection consisted of cold cereal and a waffle machine. Won't stay here again...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    23
    20
    14
    7
See reviews for
27
19
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
raleigh, nc
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

Spent three nights there Occtober 25-28. Lobby is seriously under renovation. Smell of smoke (not certain if that was the renovation totally or what) and fumes. Had to carry luggage upstairs via stairs as elevator was inoperable. Luckily the smells did not permeate the room. No breakfast because of the renovation. Had to walk nextdoor to the Quality Inn and was able to take advantage of their breakfast. Fitness room in the Sleep Inn was also unavailable. I walked nextdoor to use that of the Quality Inn, but I would not recommend it as the machines are old and the only door opens to the unlit outdoor pool area. The Sleep Inn room was clean enough, but the toilet runs a lot and made noise for much of the night. I did like that there was a walk in shower only; I don't need a bathtub. I disliked the pillows. The rooms do have thin walls, but there weren't many people on the second floor luckily making noise. The Sleep Inn staff was gracious upon check in and check out but otherwise you don't see them since the lobby was constantly under renovation.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginga90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Morganton hotels

Weaverville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

The hotel was undergoing renovations in the lobby. There was a smell of paint mixed with smoke.

The walls are not very well insulated. You could hear other televisions from other rooms.

The guest clerk was very friendly and made you feel welcome.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hh9397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

The rooms are too small to move.There is no table other than small study table, staff is not trained, the bathrrom is very small and has shower only and has one towel. Looks as if they never cleaned the windows. Think twice if you have reservation through third party like hotwire, expedis etc. their attitude changes with you.I would not give it one star though they claim two star.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spring780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2010

Stayed here one night. I had to move due to the soft beds. I felt like a hotdog in a bun! The staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfast bar has just the basics, and very cramped area, almost like an expanded closet. And there are only 5 small tables with two chairs to a table
And much of the hotel smelled of tobacco.... permeates the carpeting. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beecher,Il
Level Contributor
120 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2010

The staff was very friendly and made the trip more enjoyable. We asked to switch rooms because of a barking dog and they were very nice about it. The breakfast was very good and the area was clean.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grandmaBeecher_Il
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freedom, PA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2009

The Sleep Inn in Morganton met our needs. The people were friendly, the room was clean, and it served its purpose for us. If you want something fancier, there are more expensive hotels in the area. We were there for a family reunion, and just needed a place to sleep. There was no bathtub, which was surprising, and the shower head was a bit low--I am 5 feet 6 inches, and the shower head cleared my head by about 2 inches. I only mention this as a note for someone who may be tall, who would have to scrunch down to get your head wet--could be annoying. Free breakfast was OK, nothing special.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morganton
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Morganton
Hampton Inn Morganton
#1 of 9 in Morganton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 9 in Morganton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn Morganton
Quality Inn Morganton
#5 of 9 in Morganton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hickory
BEST WESTERN Hickory
#3 of 13 in Hickory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
21.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 5 in Marion
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
19.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Hickory
Red Roof Inn Hickory
#6 of 13 in Hickory
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn

Property: Sleep Inn
Address: 2400A S Sterling St, Morganton, NC 28655-9467
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Morganton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Morganton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Morganton
Morganton Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing