We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful food and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Root & Vine

Root & Vine
Ranked #1 of 107 Restaurants in Morganton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hickory, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is a restaurant you'd expect to find in a much larger city than Morganton, NC. The restaurant is decorated in a contemporary style with large modern artworks displayed prominently. My husband and I have eaten at Root and Vine twice, and each time, the food was prepared artfully and deliciously. The service was great, with cheerful, professional servers. We both thoroughly enjoyed our dinner (and wine selection!), as well as the somewhat formal, yet curiously quaint and comfortable atmosphere. When you eat at Root and Vine, you get the feeling that you have stumbled on a secret little gem. My husband and I highly recommend it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lora C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    59
    9
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
avl
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fresh Flavors Friendly Professional Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Delicious food and prompt service! A modern take on classic flavors. A comprehensive wine and beer selection pairs perfectly with a creative menu.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank d l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Never Again!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Was in Morganton for a training. The downtown location was close to the meeting hall so I decided to walk there with a group. We got there at 12 and still didn't have our food at 12:45. We had to run to be back to the meeting by 1 with our food in take-out boxes. The waitress never came back to check on us after taking our order (and she didn't even know enough about the food to tell us what some of the items included). They gave us a $2 discount on the WRONG ORDER. I asked for a turkey sandwich and mushroom soup, which was the daily special. I got a ham sandwich and tomato soup. I don't eat either of these things ever so I ended up having no lunch for $7.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An nice dinner in Morganton”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Had an early dinner at the Root & Vine. Nice dining room, pleasant wait staff. The portions were pretty big, salads were fresh although I don't think I have seen granola on a salad; doesn't work well for me.

The starches can be interchanged to accompany the fish, steak, etc. not noted on the minimalist menu but suggested by our server. Risotto was passable, fingering potatoes simple and nicely prepared. The main courses were cooked to our liking and arrived at the table hot.

They have a very interesting wine list with several unusual options and reasonable prices. A couple surprises and the staff was very knowledgeable. Good attention to details throughout our visit, but nothing to really knock us out and have us counting the days until our next visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gustofwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Wonderful staff, great bartenders, good variety on the menu. Lunch special is suggested - sandwich and soup/salad is good!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Root & Vine also viewed

Morganton, North Carolina Mountains
Morganton, North Carolina Mountains
 
Morganton, North Carolina Mountains
Morganton, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Root & Vine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing