We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as expected”
Review of Yiannis Restaurant

Yiannis Restaurant
Ranked #21 of 110 Restaurants in Morganton
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Rutherfordton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
176 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Not as good as expected”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

I had heard wonderful things about Yiannis, but to me the food was so-so. The special was good but menu items were not great.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank TOOTRAVEL5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    41
    16
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed March 31, 2012

This place is LOUD but the food is great. It is always good. Love the greek salad

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Janbo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Diverse Menu”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Yiannis has one of the most diverse menus of anywhere I have ever been. It is always well prepared and tastes great.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank mcain13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
82 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“greek”
Reviewed March 11, 2012

try the flat bread pizzas! most of their desserts are homemade, too - cheesecake ;-)

Helpful?
Thank ginabuchanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morganton, NC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Overpriced food”
Reviewed March 11, 2012

My husband and I have eaten here on many occasions as we rarely cook at home. We occasionally go to Yianni's and while it is not that bad, it is not that good either. The location is good as it is on one of the main streets in town. The atmosphere feels very old, plain and outdated. They have a pretty wide variety of offerings, such as sandwiches, Italian food, Greek food and have specials depending on the day of the week (for instance, Thursday night is Fish Night). The food is average but the prices are a little high for the quality. The Italian food tastes like there is no flavoring, i.e. no garlic or herbs. The Phiily cheesesteaks are pretty tasty as are the fries. If you order a salad and want to include feta cheese, they add $2.00 to the bill (much too much!)! One peculiar thing that we have noticed is that no matter how frequently we have gone there (like consistent weeks in a row), we never have had the same server! The servers are ALL young females and we have never had the same one twice and we have gone there about 10 times in the past 6 months! So apparently, for whatever reason, they have a high turnover of servers (not a good sign)! Yianni's now has new competition down the road, a restaurant called Gondola, that is much much better in every way (better prices, much better food, service, atmosphere, etc), so I doubt we will be going back to Yianni's.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yiannis Restaurant also viewed

Morganton, North Carolina Mountains
Morganton, North Carolina Mountains
 
Morganton, North Carolina Mountains
Morganton, North Carolina Mountains
 
Morganton, North Carolina Mountains
Morganton, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Yiannis Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing