We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value away from the beach on the Crystal Coast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn Morehead City
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Morehead City
Reviewed August 14, 2009

We stayed five nights here on a last minute visit to North Carolina. We like the Atlantic Beach area, especially with a kid, for the variety of things to do. Researching options for a less than full week stay, we decided to look for a place with a pool, even if not on the beach. The Quality Inn offered a rate well under alternatives that were in the$150 - $200 a night range.

In return, we got a basic, but large king bedroom with a rollaway in an aging motel with exterior doors. It's been rebranded as a Quality Inn from a Comfort Inn, reflecting its age and design. You should check reviews under Comfort Inn and Quality Hotel for this property as well. However, it's largely well maintained and very well staffed. It has an ample, clean pool that does very well for relaxing in the late afternoon despite being on the main highway into town.

The rooms are clean, though basic motel style. Ours was large enough to put the rollaway in a corner. No charge for the rollaway, by the way. Housecleaning was thorough and I noticed constant attendance to the exterior of the hotel, the pool and the breakfast room. We were trapped by rainstorms on occasion and were quite comfortable hanging out in our room. The TV has dozens of channels and the free wireless Internet service is quite strong. The free breakfast is a step below a Comfort Suites, but not by much. It has make-your-own waffles and microwaveable sausage biscuits in a addition to breads, coffee and juice. Breakfast is well attended by friendly staff.

The location is worth noting as well, While you sacrifice being on the beach by staying here, it's central for many of the attractions in the area including Atlantic Beach, Beaufort, Fort Macon State Park (for great beach facilities) and the various supplies one needs on vacation. We've stayed farther down the Bogue Banks before and, while enjoying immensely the proximity to the beach, we were always in the car to get to restaurants and supplies.

If you're looking for a way to do the North Carolina beaches on the cheap, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank umbrellaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qimcmgr, Owner at Quality Inn Morehead City, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a kind review! We are now under new management and are working towards achieving the highest care for our customers. I hope to see you in the near future! Barry Eagle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 122 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2009

We were misdirected by our travel agent to another Choice Hotels property,and it did not have the amenities the T A promised. Desk man there referred us to Quality Inn; desk clerk there got good rooms for our party and advised us of the actual amenities there. The plumbing all worked! The HVAC worked, even if almost archaic by 2009 standards. The lights worked and the place was cleaner than most. We were short on towels, so the desk clerk got us enough to serve us well. Checkin and checkout were great. One member of our party left a personal item behind, and the desk clerk a week later had it mailed to us. That's service. Decent food's in walking distance; very good food is in easy short driving distance. Beaches and military bases are close by as well. Plus, the pool was clean.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djlovindan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qimcmgr, Owner at Quality Inn Morehead City, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Thank you for the kind review! We are now under new management and are working towards achieving the highest care for our customers. I hope to see you in the near future! Barry Eagle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2009

I used Choice points to book this room. 20,000 of them. This hotel is not even close to a 20,000 point hotel. I have stayed at 20,000 point hotels before and they were very nice. The floor in the bathroom was greasy and slippery. The refrigerator made an intermittent ticking noise that was annoying. But, the last straw was the management's failure to speak to the chaperones of a group of teenagers that had the run of the hotel. The members of this group were running up and down the stairwells and walkways, banging on doors, just being very loud and obnoxious. We asked three different groups of them to please quiet down before we finally went to the desk. There was nary an adult in sight for this group. When we complained and asked to be moved, we were told there was no room where we could get away from this. Management made no effort to find the chaperones and tell them there had been a complaint. As a result we left since we had at least one group of the teenagers in the room next to ours and would not have been able to sleep with their loud talk, giggles, etc into the wee hours of the morning. I complained to Choice hotels and received my points back and a few days later an apology letter from the hotel, but that was little consolation as I made the three hour drive home late that night. This was to be a relaxing little getaway with my husband and turned out to be a nightmare. I'm not sure about a renovation as others have mentioned. There is a reason their website doesn't show a picture of the outside of the hotel other than the lobby. It is an older motel with the outside entrances and was really kind of run down. It had the curtains over the heat/air unit that blow out when you turn it on (just a little quirk of mine that drives me crazy). The bedding appeared to be newer, but the room just felt not clean. I am not generally picky about my hotels as I travel a lot in my job and have seen it all. This definitely did not meet my expectations based on the point redemption level. It probably isn't a Comfort Inn any more because it doesn't meet their standards, as I have found the Comfort Inns are generally nicer than the Quality hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GWNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qimcmgr, Owner at Quality Inn Morehead City, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Thank you for taking time to write a review! We are now under new management and are working towards achieving the highest care for our customers. Barry Eagle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2009

This hotel is the best value on the Morehead City side of the beach. It's close to the bridge, it's clean, it offers a substantial contentinental breakfast, free wifi throughout, and the beds are comfortable.

This is a remodeled older hotel - standard two floors, drive up to your room-type layout. You can tell the building is old - but the renovations really make the rooms feel nice. The carpet is new, bed and bedding is new, furnishings are nice. The fixtures in the bathroom are old, and not all the rooms have flat screen tvs, but other than that - they are comfortable and clean.

The pool is small, but clean and inviting. Breakfast is a great value - plenty to eat, hot or cold, and the coffee was REALLY good!

The fact is that on the weekends, all the hotels in Morehead City are way overpriced....at least here you are getting a clean room, a good breakfast, and free wi-fi, without paying the Holiday Inn Express or Hampton prices.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank max25oliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qimcmgr, Owner at Quality Inn Morehead City, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Thank you so much for the great review! We are now under new management and are working towards achieving the highest care for our customers. Barry Eagle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2009

Stayed here in the past and figured I would again. Property changed from a Comfort Inn to a Quality Inn and underwent a total overall. New carpet, furniture, bedding. Rooms are all new and they redid the lobby which is also very nice. Breakfast was also a good surprise the next morning. Much more than coffee and doughnuts like many other hotels. Very clean and pleasant staff. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bpcchaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qimcmgr, Owner at Quality Inn Morehead City, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Thank you so much for the kind review! We are now under new management and are working towards achieving the highest care for our customers. I hope to see you in the near future! Barry Eagle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2008

For starters, the value of this stay for me is infinite since it was a reward night on my Choice account. The location is great as a stop-off on the way to "Down East" NC and the Outer Banks. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was exceptionally generous, including waffles and many cereals and pastries.

This is an older hotel where you can park right outside your door if you are on the 1st floor. Our room was noticibly worn - carpet, bedding, curtains, paint etc. The bathroom sink and associated fixtures were straight out of the 70's, but all worked just fine. The dehumidifier was a bit raucous, but that was easily fixed by simply turning off for the night. The only truly wierd thing was the safety chain - it was hung backward on the door such that it would prove utterly useless in an emergency. Thankfully such emergencies are all but unheard of in this area.

This is a good place to stay so long as you don't spend much money on the room - that is, negotiate the lowest possible price.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeebytheSea35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qimcmgr, Owner at Quality Inn Morehead City, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thank you for taking time to write a review. We are now under new management and are working towards achieving the highest care for our customers. Barry Eagle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2008

The lobby was nice, but the rooms need some attention.
Our room was dirty looking and had a terrible odor.
My son awoke to 3 roaches on his arm and in his bed. When we asked a housekeeper about the roach problem, she said she was not aware of roaches, just the bed bug problem.
We were charged over a hundred dollars for the night and the manager did not seem to care about our terrible experience.
We did not want our money back, just an apology would have been nice.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank wheelspoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qimcmgr, Owner at Quality Inn Morehead City, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Thank you for taking time to write a review! I personally want to apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. We are now under new management and are working towards achieving the highest care for our customers. The hotel has been through a thorough pest control inspection Please feel free to contact me at (910)509-1707. We want to make things right for you and your family. Barry Eagle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morehead City
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Morehead City
Hampton Inn Morehead City
#2 of 5 in Morehead City
659 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
#1 of 5 in Morehead City
220 reviews
0.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Crystal Coast
Econo Lodge Crystal Coast
#5 of 5 in Morehead City
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Morehead City
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
1.7 mi away
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
#2 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Morehead City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Morehead City

Address: 3100 Arendell St, Morehead City, NC 28557-3202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Morehead City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Morehead City
Price Range: $72 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Morehead City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Inn is centrally located on U.S. Highway 70 and just minutes to many major attractions. Our Morehead City hotel is in close proximity to Fort Macon State Park, North Carolina Aquarium at Pine Knoll Shores, Crystal Coast Civic Center and historic Beaufort. The Cherry Point Marine Corps Air Station is just 15 miles away. Visitors will enjoy local beaches and outdoor recreational activities such as golfing, fishing, tours of Cape Lookout National Seashore and Lighthouse. Browse a wide variety of museums and specialty shops located in the surrounding area and dine at one of several nearby restaurants. Our hotel offers our guests free wireless internet service in all rooms, a Business Center located in the lobby & access to fax service. Each morning you can enjoy a hot continental breakfast in our hotel lobby. In the afternoon & evening, one can relax at our outdoor seasonal pool. We also offer our business travelers competitive corporate rates. The Quality Inn is your gateway to the Crystal Coast. From the moment you arrive, you are greeted with the warmth of southern hospitality in a setting of affordable luxury. Whether traveling to the Morehead City area for business or pleasure, the hotel's friendly staff looks forward to meeting your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn Morehead City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morehead City Comfort Inn
Quality Hotel Morehead City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing