We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best food of any kind in North Carolina”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bistro by the Sea

Bistro by the Sea
Ranked #12 of 121 Restaurants in Morehead City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Water Views
New Bern, North Carolina, USA
2 reviews
“The best food of any kind in North Carolina”
Reviewed October 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I've been to this place many times after reading a review about it in US Airways in flight magazine. They really do have the best food I've tried anywhere in the state.

The Chablis dill sauce on seafood is absolutely fantastic. The desserts are hand made and aren't shipped in so that they taste like the freezer.

Get the which ever fresh catch is available on that day with the Chablis dill sauce, you won't be disappointed. Wow, fantastic food.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    41
    17
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
127 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Get the Hot Stone Beef Starter”
Reviewed October 18, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Fresh filet slices that you cook on a hot stone at your table! It is awesome! Also the She Crab soup is the best around! Great food!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank CBarr617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, NJ
Level Contributor
81 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Sorry I didn't try it sooner ...”
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Have been driving by this place for more than five years; each year saying I would stop. But never did. The drive into town seems a bit off the beaten path from the beach, but it really isn't. So we finally went there this week, and it was amazing! We shared the crab and avocado appetizer and I was blown away! The presentation was amazing and the taste was sublime. Chunks of avocado and huge chunks of crab, in a light dressing, served with homemade bread toast points. Yum, yum, yum!!!! I will go back and have that for a linchpin entree. It was fabulous. I had the house special grouper and my husband ad the special red drum. They were different; but both were excellent. The crime brûlée was tasty as well. My only criticism - and it is a tiny one - the crime brûlée was served in a dish that was too tall and deep. Less custard and more brûlée would have appealed to me more. But it was still yummy. We will be back on our next visit to the Crystal Coast!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathykoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morehead City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
161 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Still one of my favorite fine dining restaurants”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Back after two years out of the country, I'm still impressed. Libby still runs an efficient operation, Tim still works his magic in the kitchen and Buddy always makes you feel special at the table. My guests and I have always had memorable meals here from fresh seafood to beef dishes, all with tasty side dishes. Glad I'm back to enjoy each opportunity to dine here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CrystalCoasBroker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cheesy”
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

I was quite surprised when I walked into this restaurant. I felt like a time traveler who had gone back to the 1940's or 50's and ended up in a cheesy lounge. The crooner at the piano, the dark, heavy velvet drapes - everything screamed cheesy and fake. Since I was alone I decided to just eat at the bar. The bartenders were very nice. The salad was great. But I couldn't wait to leave! I won't be going back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Penny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro by the Sea also viewed

Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
 
Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Bistro by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing