We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still one of my favorite fine dining restaurants” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro by the Sea

Bistro by the Sea
Ranked #13 of 114 Restaurants in Morehead City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Water Views
Morehead City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
151 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Still one of my favorite fine dining restaurants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Back after two years out of the country, I'm still impressed. Libby still runs an efficient operation, Tim still works his magic in the kitchen and Buddy always makes you feel special at the table. My guests and I have always had memorable meals here from fresh seafood to beef dishes, all with tasty side dishes. Glad I'm back to enjoy each opportunity to dine here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CrystalCoasBroker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    35
    15
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cheesy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

I was quite surprised when I walked into this restaurant. I felt like a time traveler who had gone back to the 1940's or 50's and ended up in a cheesy lounge. The crooner at the piano, the dark, heavy velvet drapes - everything screamed cheesy and fake. Since I was alone I decided to just eat at the bar. The bartenders were very nice. The salad was great. But I couldn't wait to leave! I won't be going back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Penny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great seafood and very consistant quality. My favorates are anything with Grouper or Trigger fish. We were a group of 15 and no problems with service.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank j2bfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very good local seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This restaurant has one up and one down.

On the upside the food is very good and the portions are just the right size. We ate two times while visiting the area and had local catches both nights. The fish was expertly prepared. The restaurant also has a wide variety of cocktails.

On the downside - we waited two hours (yes) for our food; but it was partially our fault for not having reservations on a Saturday night during peak beach season. So, it's recommended to arrive early if possible with advanced reservations.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForsythCounty, NC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Another Very Good Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Our party of ten enjoyed a very good meal at Bistro by the Sea last Wednesday, June 19. During our annual trips to the beach, we have eaten at this restaurant approximately every other summer during the past 14 years. Six of the seven times Buddy was our server, and he never fails to be pleasant, knowledgeable about the menu, and efficient in presenting the meals. Our choices included fresh salads, crab bisque, crab cakes, swordfish, lobster, herb crusted lionfish, filet mignon, and glazed beef tips. The food met or exceeded our expectations, which are based on never having had less than a good dining experience at this establishment run by Libby Eaton and Chef Tim Coyne.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NCTravelFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro by the Sea also viewed

Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
 
Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
 
Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Bistro by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing