We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Waste Your Time or Money!”

Sanitary Fish Market & Restaurant
Ranked #36 of 123 Restaurants in Morehead City
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Takeout
Description: It is our goal to please every customer who walks through our doors. If you have a complaint please contact one of our managers.
Greenville, NC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Don't Waste Your Time or Money!”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I have lived in eastern NC for 58 years and going to the Sanitary (Tony's) Restaurant was a tradition my Grandmother started way back when but something has gone terribly, terribly wrong. It was the worst seafood I have ever attempted to eat. I wanted to order a soft shell crab dinner with a side of shrimp. Was told by the waitress they did not sell it like that and that if I wanted a side of shrimp, I would need to order a shrimp cocktail or get a senior’s shrimp dinner. What???? I asked how many crabs came on the dinner and was told three. The waitress brought out the shrimp cocktail that smelled very fishy. The lettuce was fresh but the shrimp were old. I didn’t eat it. Thirty minutes later, she shows up with a single (cold) fried crab and tells me that she was mistaken about the crab dinner. I got up, paid for my tea and left. Save your money and go to the Fish Hooks Café in Belhaven, NC. The seafood is ultra-fresh and you won't need to sell a kidney to pay for it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Tired_of_Rip_Offs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    181
    222
    139
    124
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Awe some”
Reviewed November 24, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

For the best seafood in all of Moorehead and Atlantic Beach , NC go here . Great service and have going been here for over 15 years . The food is excellent , you won't be disappointed . Bring my wife here for every anniversary ,besides other times since living in NC .

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank lv2trvl244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The Last Lunch ”
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Visited during lunch with my wife and grandchildren. Have dined at Sanitary at least half a dozen times over the past thirty years, but this will be my last visit. First, the corn bread was over cooked and when I pointed it out to our server, I was told that was how they all were. Nevertheless, the server offered to bring a freshly cooked batch. I could tell no difference in the taste. We also ate oysters, shrimp, and flounder, all of which I sampled. The flavor and quantity were at best marginal and well below that of comparable menu items eaten there in the past. The place is very clean and the view is great, but neither of those things compensate for the substandard food.

Helpful?
1 Thank theconehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“As Good As I Remember”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

This has been a favorite of ours for over 40 years. And our return did not disappoint. The steamed shrimp were massive, tender and tasty, and the 75th anniversary nostalgia has items from the past. Boiled shrimp in butter was melt-in-your-mouth delicious. And the corn meal-based hush puppies were crunchy and delicious.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DocMark68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Go elsewhere”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

First, we were told that the kitchen could not combine fried seafood with broiled seafood on the combination platter. So much for being accommodating to your guests, especially since the restaurant was almost empty. Salad consisted of a small bowl of some iceberg remnants with flavorless dressing. The biggest surprise was the terrible seafood. The seafood used here is NOT fresh but frozen food. This is the kind of food you get in a seafood restaurant hours away from the coast, not right on the Crystal Coast! The fried shrimp was soggy and mushy. Yes, the view is pretty! But the prices are way too high for seafood that is not fresh!! Stay away, far, far away!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank carolinagirl085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sanitary Fish Market & Restaurant also viewed

Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
 
Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina Coast
 
Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Sanitary Fish Market & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing