We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Morehead City restaurant”

Sanitary Fish Market & Restaurant
Ranked #37 of 125 Restaurants in Morehead City
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Takeout
Description: It is our goal to please every customer who walks through our doors. If you have a complaint please contact one of our managers.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Great seafood restaurant. Staff is very friendly and welcome all patrons like they are long time returning customers. Selection was great, something for everyone. Wait staff was more then eager to address questions and offer suggestions. Good value and fast service. Great scenic view of the waterway. Plenty of parking.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SeasonedTraveler4029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playfair738, Manager at Sanitary Fish Market & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thank you for your patronage. We appreciate your business and hope you will return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (891)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

678 - 682 of 891 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2013

First time we'd been back in waaay too many years. But it's still the great place it's always been. And they have a special 75th anniversary menu that's well priced and plenty of great items. Strongly suggest the Key Lime Cheesecake. Wait staff goes out of their way to please.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 414Bookworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff G, Manager at Sanitary Fish Market & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thank you for your recent visit. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

The pictures on the inside are neat to view....the food was just okay. The wait staff was pleasant and attentive. The menu is decent. Worth a try just for the nostalgia of the area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rlwhite2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff G, Manager at Sanitary Fish Market & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thank you for your contribution. We take our business seriously and are always working towards excellence. We have an ongoing food creation team which constantly come up with new ideas. Maybe next time you will experience some of our new creations such as Shrimp and Grits the Sanitary Fish Market way!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We had always been sort of put off by the name. (Made us think of hospital cafeterias!) two recent visits proved that our reluctance to try this well-known restaurant were right on the mark. The service, though friendly and personable, was grossly inefficient. Wrong wine, wrong entree, slow to bring the check. The food was very disappointing as well. Crab corn chowder was filled with what looked like a week's worth of pot scrapings and had a pool of grease floating on the surface. The crab cake entree (which was supposed to be a soft shell crab) was a small, over cooked, heavily breaded "hockey puck." Two pasta dishes were run of the mill, supermarket quality. The view is lovely - right on the water, but that in no way makes up for the other faults of what was at one time a well regarded restaurant. Adding insult to injury, the bill for four people was over $100! Never again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Faith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff G, Manager at Sanitary Fish Market & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

I am sincerely sorry for your recent experience in the Sanitary Restaurant. Please give us an opportunity to make it up to you. Upon your next visit present your receipt and identify yourself and I will take care of this situation.

Thank you,

Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Our waitress was really great. My children have food allergies and she was very helpful in finding things they could eat. My oldest had the shrimp basket and my youngest was fixed grilled shrimp with a salad. I really appreciate the time that was taken to make sure they had a safe meal. My husband had blue fish, which he said was good and I ate a crab cake (not much of a seafood girl) and it was good. Definetely a restaurant for the great seafood lovers out there.

1  Thank creekside94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff G, Manager at Sanitary Fish Market & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

We would like to take the time to say thanks to you for your interest in our success. Your comments help keep our morale up as we work hard to please everyone who enters our front doors!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sanitary Fish Market & Restaurant also viewed

Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
 
Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
 
Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Sanitary Fish Market & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing