We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“50's THROWBACK!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El's Drive In

El's Drive In
Ranked #4 of 119 Restaurants in Morehead City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wilson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
123 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“50's THROWBACK!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Take a trip to the beach
Get hungry for old time burgers
What do you get?
El's of course!
All you need here is a car to pull into the parking lot . A carhop will greet you , take your order , and bring back the best burgers and fries around!
Nothing fancy here....just good food at a great price!
Try the SUPERBURGER, a 1/2 lb of GOODNESS!
Slaw,chilli,onions,mustard,cheese, all comes together for a unforgettable experience!
Pull in
Blink the lights
ENJOY!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hpm88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    93
    24
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Makes me miss home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I love going to El's when I visit family in that area. The burgers have virtually stayed the same for longer than my 33 years of life and I never get tired of eating them. There is just something about pulling up there and being able to order and eat in my car with my family. Very busy place but they get to you quickly and the food comes fast as well. Highly recommend this place to anyone visiting the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Patrick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Yummy food, no frills”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

After a day at the beach a shrimp po' boy really hits the spot. You can park in the shade. The carhops are quick and efficient. The tea is fresh and can be without sugar for us northerners. Who wants to get out of the car with beach hair anyway? El's is a dependable standard for inexpensive tasty food in Morehead City.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank QCfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoneville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“unique”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We just had to try the shrimp burger and it was great! Very tasty, fries were also great, too, not too crispy & not too mushy. Yes, we had to wait, but well worth it for fresh cooked food. Don't go here if you're expecting food as soon as you pull in the parking lot. Waitress who took our order was very helpful and courteous - yes it was hot and there were lots of people waiting. A couple of suggestions - pull in facing the same way as others already in the parking lot, don't come if you don't have time to wait for good food to be cooked to order.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Shrimp burger heaven”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Best shrimp burger I have had. Great hush puppies and very sweet slaw. Courteous service if busy there is a slight wait but it's not bad for freshly cooked food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sandboxpirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El's Drive In also viewed

Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
 
Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
 
Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to El's Drive In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing