We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go the Hampton Inn..it's better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Morehead City
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Morehead City
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Go the Hampton Inn..it's better”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

I knew I'd be in for a long night when I entered in the early afternoon and was told to "hold on a minute" from someone in the back. I got checked in and immediately noticed how warm and uncomfortable it was in the hallways. Then when I walked into my room, I noticed that mildew type smell that permeated the room. Then when I went to the bathroom, I noticed some brown liquid spots on the front of the toilet. Absolutely disgusting to have to walk into that.

After getting over the fact that I felt dirty just by being in the room, I noticed that the fridge/microwave was archaic and definitely in need of an upgrade. Fortunately, the bed was comfortable and the air conditioning worked. Had I been on vacation, I would have been much more disappointed with the quality of the room. If I had the chance, I'd go to the Hampton Inn..I remember my experience being much better there. Or better yet, if you're willing to drive a bit, go stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Havelock. I'm almost sure it would be better than this one.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aspiring_Critic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Morehead City, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Dear NirvanaCrono,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. However, I'm very sorry that you were disappointed with your room accommodations. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We all hope to have the honor of hosting you again on a future visit. Again, thank you for your comments.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    53
    31
    21
    10
See reviews for
51
51
12
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Still washing the stench out of our clothes!!! Had a room on the ground floor behind the swimming pool, and the room absolutely stunk. We could not get anything to dry out (I am no stranger to beach climates but we were not on the beach). We talked to the Front Desk folks three times and while very nice, they said they did all they could (not sure what that was but it did nothing regardless). Finally they gave us a bottle of linen freshener, and after we sprayed everything, the room did smell better...until we left and re-entered a few hours later. Unbelievable bad smell!!! Someone had a dog in their room and it barked all the time. They ran out of ice in the ice dispenser. But the final straw for us was at breakfast, as they ran out of most goods, and their employees, in uniform, jumped in front of paying guests to grab their own food. We could not believe how rude and unaware they were...I've never seen anything like that before! My daughter wanted oatmeal, filled up her bowl with the dry oatmeal only to find out they were out of hot water -- hot water, really, how does that happen? Regardless, when we asked about getting hot water, the breakfast attendant offered no assistance and only replied that they were out. We pointed out that the oatmeal in the bowl would go wasted now, and the attendant shrugged and just walked off.
Now on the positive side, the room was clean although dark and basic, and the lobby was large and open but as plain as you can get. A nice touch was that they put out waters, crackers, cookies and chocolates and little beach toys - we thought that was a great touch. But I could never recommend this place and next time will stay down the street at the Hampton Inn.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the ground floor!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bocain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Morehead City, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear Bocain,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I am pleased you found your room clean. However, please do accept our apologies for the inconvenience you have experienced due to the smell of the room, hotel facilities and services during breakfast. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. We are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Morehead City hotels

Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

I am a hilton diamond member - this is resonably priced, the rooms have the basics, I was very pleased with the service the the front desk is very nice and the morning spread is very good, the next time I am in the area I would stay there

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bubba086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

I ended up giving this hotel a 3 out of 5 because although we had a very nice stay, there were a few things that ticked me off. Our non-smoking room smelled like someone had smoked in it & someone tried to cover it up but b/c we were not going to be staying long & we were too tired from driving here from PA to care, I didn't mention anything (hindsight is 20/20 though!). The wi-fi is HORRIBLY slow, to the point where you're better off going elsewhere just to access the internet. They ended up charging my card the $200.00 smoking fee the day after we left. At first the woman I spoke to on the phone refused to do anything but once I stressed the fact that neither me or my fiance smoke & our room was right next door to the exit (where people were going to smoke) & we reserved a non-smoking room for a reason, she 'convinced' the manager to credit the money back to my card. Overall, a decent stay....the room itself was very nice & comfortable (aside from the smell). Just be sure if there's something amok with your room, you say something right away!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsMiller14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendell, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2012

No hot water in the showers, had to move rooms at 10 pm, night attendant didn't have the authority to compensate, paid for a king size room and got moved to a double. Better yet the day attendant knew there was an issue with the water earlier that day, and didn't have us check the status of the water prior.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Morehead City, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Dear Amy Hm

Thank you for taking the time to let us have your feedback via Trip Advisor following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Morehead City. I was disappointed to read that you had a poor service experience when you used the hotel & facilities here and this is not the usual high standard of guest experience that we offer.
We appreciate the feedback that we receive from our guests & this is crucial for us to improve the products & services that we offer. We take this opportunity to send you our best wishes.

Regards,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwin, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

This was a really nice hotel. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and the beds slept very comfy. The breakfast was nice also with hot and cold foods being served. The shower had good water pressure and you could adjust the nozzle better than in a lot of other hotels we have stayed in. A lot of dining and shopping places nearby. We did arrive back late at night and had to park in back from main entrance but side doors available for entrance with key card, when we got to side entrance it was already open and we did have a little concern about this as far as safety. Lighting was pretty good in parking spaces next to hotel building at back but feel more lighting needed at back spaces away from building. Did not swim but had a very nice looking pool area with locked gate system, also the gym area appeared nice.

Room Tip: Try not to get room near elevator if you are a lite sleeper, also we could hear children in room nex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luvsweeniedogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windsor, on
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

The Express hotels are so beautifully appointed. Beautiful lobby, free parking, very comfortable beds, outstanding breakfast and excellent staff. The two things I look forward to when travelling are reliable Wi-fi and a hot bath. On these two counts, the hotel was substandard. At 9:30 at night, hot water was not very hot And the tub stopper did not work so I had to use a cloth and my heel to
Keep the water in. It was too late to move so i lived with it. It was the intermittent wifi that made me crazy. I was trying to plan our next day's travel and without reliable Internet connection, I had to take my maps and books to the Texas Steakhouse. Which is another plus to this hotel. Close proximity of an excellent steak house

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwarkentin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morehead City
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Morehead City
Hampton Inn Morehead City
#2 of 5 in Morehead City
601 reviews
2.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
4.8 mi away
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
#1 of 5 in Morehead City
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Be...
#2 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
722 reviews
3.9 mi away
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
#2 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
262 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
#4 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Morehead City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Morehead City

Property: Holiday Inn Express Morehead City
Address: 5063 Executive Dr, Morehead City, NC 28557-2507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Morehead City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Morehead City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Morehead City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Morehead City, NC, welcomes all travelers near and far. For business or leisure, we are a premier, family friendly, business minded hotel. Our Morehead City, NC hotel has small town charm in close proximity to the Crystal Coast. Attractions: Ocracoke Island, Cedar Island, Outer Banks, Ocean, Indian Beach, Harkers Island, sports fishing, golfing, Croatan National Forest, Cape Lookout Light House, Maritime Museum, Fort Macon, Midnight Rodeo, Pine Knoll Shores Aquarium, OBX fishing, Charter Fishing, Crystal Coast Atlantic Jamboree, Olympus Diving, and the Big Rock Fishing Tournament. Nearby cities: Morehead City, Swansboro, NC, Beaufort, Havelock, Ocracoke, Cedar Island, NC, Carteret County, Crystal Coast, Emerald Isle, Pine Knoll ,NC, Salter Path NC, and Harkers Island. Local businesses: Henrys, Farm Bureau, IFH, Lowes, Wal-Mart, Progress Energy, Vertex Aerospace, Big Rock Sports, Carteret General Hospital, Deli Express, Corporate Lodging, 70 West Marina, and Morehead Marine-Grady White Dealer. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Morehead City invites you to enjoy windsurfing, skiing, surfing, swimming, fishing, dolphin watching, sun, fun, food and Crystal Coast hospitality. Don t forget, we are a pet friendly hotel with easy access to the outdoor areas without disturbing our non pet guests, but are limited to the number available. $25 pet fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Morehead City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Morehead City Hotel Morehead City
Holiday Inn Morehead City
Morehead City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing