We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best out of 3”

Sammy's Seafood House & Oyster Bar
Ranked #13 of 123 Restaurants in Morehead City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Sammy's Seafood House & Oyster Bar (formerly Sammy's Ice House)is one of the newest additions to the Morehead City Waterfront. We pride ourselves in our fresh, locally caught seafood and true southern hospitality. Join us in fall and winter for our Oyster Bar ... we shuck'em and you eat'em!!
Amherst, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best out of 3”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We decided to take a chance on this place purely on the wonderful smell outside of the restraurant! We had been to two other restaurants in the imediate area on different occasions and were not pleased! Sammy's made up for it! We felt welcomed even before we walked in the door. A nice lady came out side to greet us and held the door for us as we walked in. The atmosphere is wonderful! Our server was very nice. Now for the food. The reasons why I gave this a very good rating and not excellent are: The house salad could have used a few more ingredients in it for sure. I ordered the Stuffed Flounder. Our server said that the fish was fresh. While the crab stuffing was very tasty, the edges of the flounder were dry and lacked flavor. This lead me to believe that it was either not fresh or over cooked. However my husband had the Ribeye and said it was very good. The corn bread that is served prior to the meal is the best I have ever put in my mouth . It tastes like cake! The prices were fairly reasonable . If my Flounder and the salad had been better , we would have given this place an excellent rating. We will try it again for sure!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Marylou C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    134
    40
    25
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious food, delightful atmosphere, wonderful service!”
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We visited for lunch. Great lunch menu with reasonable prices (to be directly on the morehead waterfront). Wonderful, friendly service! Welcoming atmosphere with great views of the waterfront and outdoor dinning! Great food! the shrinp wrap was delicous with fresh tasting shrimp and great fries! We would love to go back soon!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent food, Friendly service”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The food was delicious, prices were reasonable, atmosphere and wait staff very friendly. Our waiter was full of information about the Outer Banks which we were visiting.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A pleasant and tasty surprise!!”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Well, we have been going to Atlantic Beach and Moorehead City for years. This time we decided to try Sammy's. The friendly greeting and service started our dining experience off with a bang. Sammy and his sister, Doris, made us feel right at home. Next, the appetizers and entre's were perfect! Supurb attention from the wait staff. We could tell there was a high degree of personal attention from the Chef given to our meals. The grilled tuna on penne pasta is top notch! We bring our family to the beach every year and will most definitely take them to Sammy's.(by the way, the oysters were huge). Arrive early as no reservations are taken.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank WoodyGboroNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great food - great service”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

First time trying this restaurant. It was absolutely fabulous. Felt 'right at home'. Our server, Jordan, was very friendly and ensured we had everything we needed. I would highly recommend everyone to visit Sammy's went visiting Morehead.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank scoobydoobiedoo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sammy's Seafood House & Oyster Bar also viewed

Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina Coast
 
Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina Coast
 
Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Sammy's Seafood House & Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing