We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sammy's is fabulous! He makes you feel like family.”

Sammy's Seafood House & Oyster Bar
Ranked #13 of 122 Restaurants in Morehead City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $35
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Sammy's Seafood House & Oyster Bar (formerly Sammy's Ice House)is one of the newest additions to the Morehead City Waterfront. We pride ourselves in our fresh, locally caught seafood and true southern hospitality. Join us in fall and winter for our Oyster Bar ... we shuck'em and you eat'em!!
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sammy's is fabulous! He makes you feel like family.”
Reviewed July 18, 2011

I attended a graduate research trip in Beaufort with a large group of teachers. Sammy was so sweet and gracious. He taught us to dig clams, served us clam bake, and clam chowder. The food was amazing. The fried oysters, clams, calamari, crab cakes, shrimp, everything was delicious. Sawyer was the best waitress ever. Doris, Sammy's sister, is a warm and welcoming hostess. I have already spread the word about this fantastic place. I will return every time I am in the Outer Banks.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RockyFork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    128
    37
    24
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Bellefontaine, Ohio
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“prime example of southern hospitality”
Reviewed July 18, 2011

I went with a group from Ohio. Sammy and his staff went out of their way to make us feel comfortable! The food was excellent, I recommend the homemade cheesecake; I was heavenly!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WrightStatePIESgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, NC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Outstanding service and food was excellent”
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Janelle was our server., She went out of her way more than once to accommodate our family. The chef customized a meal for our 10 year old son who loves steak and didn't care for the normal kid menu fare. I highly recommend this restaurant and ask for Janelle!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellinMomNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The place to go for fresh local seafood.”
Reviewed July 12, 2011

My first time to Moorehead, NC. and Sammy's was everything I was looking for in local seafood. Great service and fresh seafood on the waterfront. Fantastic!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jccrutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best seafood meal ever!”
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We have eaten in over 70 countries. This is some of the finest cuisine in our opinion around anywhere. Sammy and his food is CLASSY. K&B RANCH. Alabama

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sevek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sammy's Seafood House & Oyster Bar also viewed

Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
 
Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Sammy's Seafood House & Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing