We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for special occasions!”
Review of Ruddy Duck Tavern

Ruddy Duck Tavern
Ranked #1 of 122 Restaurants in Morehead City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Raleigh
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great for special occasions!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This was our third visit and the third great meal! We arrived right before sunset for our Valentines dinner. We asked to sit by the water and the hostess seated us right by the window about 3 feet from the water! Calimari appetizer was excellent, shrimp basket was breaded perfectly, and a pasta dish was superb. Sunset: priceless. So, great food and great atmosphere. No wonder it is always busy!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    604
    269
    74
    26
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Usually packed because always good”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Our favorite lunch spot with seating inside and on the patio waterside. Dining rooms for family and large bar area for hanging with friends. Empanadas to die for. Portions large. Specials tend to stay the same but are nice complement to the rather limited main menu.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kdlRaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rotting fish smell everywhere!”
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Honestly a good place to grab food, have a few drinks in a low key environment and FUN waterfront environment. Sadly the whole atmosphere is taken aback by the overwhelming scent of rotting fish and humidity (especially during the summer). I think a lot of it could be resolved if the management stopped trying to save a few pennies on the electric bill and set the AC to 75. Use a fresh mop that isn't laden in mold and you'd be amazed at the wonders you can accomplish!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MHC_beach_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Knoll Shores, North Carolina
Level Contributor
75 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Dock your boat and have a great time!”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Great dining/drink experience. We've been dining at Ruddy Duck's for 6+ years and always a good experience....great food and drinks....try the bloody mary's on the deck almost anytime for a fun day. Dock your boat there or easy parking almost anytime. RD's is busy all the time so there may be a short wait...but worth it....if they're busy you can walk across the street to Beachbumz....both good dining. The flounder ruben is huge and excellent....and did I say the bloody mary's were excellent?

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nc
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fantastic Find”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

On a recent trip to Morehead City, we were disappointed to see that The Sanitary was closed for the season. However, just next door was an interesting looking Pub/Restaurant that we decided to try. We are so glad we did! What a find. The food was exceptional, and the beer selection was outstanding. The atmosphere is not "tourist-like" at all, even though it is on the waterfront. Portions are very generous, and many are large enough to share. We had the Crab Dip, Jambalaya, Clam Linguini, and a Seafood Combo. All three dishes were well-prepared and delicious. Again, the portions are very large - next time we will split both a salad and plate. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aeflynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruddy Duck Tavern also viewed

Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina Coast
 
Morehead City, North Carolina Coast
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Ruddy Duck Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing