We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovations in Progress” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Morehead City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn Morehead City
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Morehead City
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Renovations in Progress”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

A girlfriend of mine is getting married in Morehead City, so the weekend of her engagement party we decided to stay at the Hampton Inn (where she has reserved rooms for the wedding). The hotel is in a superb location, looking out over the inter-coastal waterway.
For $85 we reserved a room with a view.

When we arrived we were greeted by a very friendly attendant who checked us in and gave us our keys. When we got the second floor we were met by a STRONG scent of wet paint. I mean, very strong. There were also men working in the hallways and debris lying around. We understood that they were making renovations, so we just went with it.

Our room was a decent size, with a king size bed, but the comforter was old and so worn that the filler (fake down???) in side of it had simply balled up into lumps. The bed was also very hard and there was no shower liner in the shower...just a curtain. It made it very hard NOT to get water all over the floor.

Breakfast was surprisingly good and service upon check out was wonderful. I'm hoping that the renovations that are being made to the hotel will include updates to the room. We will still stay with them during the wedding festivities, so I'll let you know. :)

Room Tip: Splurge for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa R, General Manager at Hampton Inn Morehead City, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback as we strive to provide all of our guests with an excellent experience! Please know that our shower curtain is dual purposeded as a curtain and liner and we also have plans to update our duvets. We look forward to serving you again and show you what our warm Hamptonality is all about here at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    139
    54
    20
    10
See reviews for
162
132
31
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
MYRTLE BEACH
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This was a one night stop on way back from the Outer Banks. The room was recently renovated so everything was new and the cleaning was thorough. It was a short walk to a Tavern for supper and then a good night's sleep in a comfortable bed. Breakfast was what you expect at Hampton. Next time I believe I might stay an extra night on the Outer Banks and really see Ocracoke Island, that looks like a step back in time and a lot of fun. But if your on the mainland, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the back and the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StrugglingGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa R, General Manager at Hampton Inn Morehead City, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback as we strive to provide all of our guests with an excellent experience! We hope we may serve you again and show you what our warm Hamptonality is all about here at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Hampton Inn at Morehead City, NC was as expected....nice & clean with a very courteous staff.
Just a few wee concerns that were given to the front desk.. #1- electrical socket/outlet coming out of the wall in the bathroom #2-gaps around the door-needed some weather stripping or be rehung....#3 the mattress was not too comfortable- springs could be felt all over( did not mention this- only because it was an after thought)- we survived with the mattress...would have thought the mattresses would have been of a better quality.
All in all a very nice place to stay for a few days!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CluelessCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa R, General Manager at Hampton Inn Morehead City, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback, we are sorry for the condition of your mattress. We do have plans in 2013 to upgrade. We hope we can have another chance to show you what our warm Hamptonality is all about here at our hotel, if your travels bring you back to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunset Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed in Morehead City, NC, on a recent tour of the neighboring town of Beaufort. The Inn is right on the waterway and provides great views. The staff, from reception desk to food servers, were pleasant and helpful. The rooms were spotless and fresh. We will be staying there again on our next visit to the area.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the waterway offer an excellent view, plus sun rising as well as setting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hot-on-the-Beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa R, General Manager at Hampton Inn Morehead City, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback as we strive to provide all of our guests with an excellent experience! We hope we may serve you again and show you what our warm Hamptonality is all about here at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina
Level Contributor
122 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I have stayed here a number of times on business trips and the location fits my needs. For some reason though, it is always overpriced considering it's not even close to the beach. I keep staying here because it is so close to where I often speak when in Morehead City. The staff is competent and caring. The current construction is inconvenient at best and irritating at worst. Parking is cramped due to all the construction equipment and vehicles.

Room Tip: It might be advisable to check the price of the other Hampton Inn directly across the street from At...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sink-me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa R, General Manager at Hampton Inn Morehead City, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and are sorry for the construction noise, however we are very excited about the renovation and updated hotel our future guests will experience. We would like to also apologize for the less than satisfying experience that you had and hope we can have another chance to show you what our warm Hamptonality is all about here at our hotel. We are scheduled to be completed with renovation by mid December and if your travels bring you back to the area, hope that you will stop in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
146 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

A very good Hampton Inn. Needs a few things like carpet in a few hallways, but overall a good property & location. Front desk personnel were friendly. Morning breakfast was average, but good quality & fresh. The rooms on the backside of the hotel have a great view of the sound.

Room Tip: For a great view pay the extra for a water view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa R, General Manager at Hampton Inn Morehead City, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback as we strive to provide all of our guests with an excellent experience! We hope we may serve you again and show you what our warm Hamptonality is all about here at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This was a one night stop on way to Outer Banks. The room was clean, good service and great b'fast. B'fast was not continental - they had scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuits & gravy, oatmeal, etc. Bed was comfortable, quiet atmosphere, good nights sleep.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SatisfiedtravelerApr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa R, General Manager at Hampton Inn Morehead City, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback as we strive to provide all of our guests with an excellent experience! We hope we may serve you again and show you what our warm Hamptonality is all about here at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morehead City
2.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
3.0 mi away
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
#2 of 5 in Morehead City
4.5 of 5 stars 124 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Be...
#2 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
4.5 of 5 stars 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Morehead City
2.2 mi away
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
#2 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 211 reviews
0.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Crystal Coast
Econo Lodge Crystal Coast
#4 of 5 in Morehead City
3.0 of 5 stars 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Morehead City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Morehead City

Property: Hampton Inn Morehead City
Address: 4035 Arendell St, Morehead City, NC 28557-2926
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Morehead City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Morehead City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Morehead City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Hampton Inn Morehead City is located only a few miles from Atlantic Beach, with amazing views of the Intra-Coastal Waterway. Our hotel offers 119 always clean and comfortable guestrooms, plenty of meeting space for events, a fitness center, outdoor pool, and complimentary breakfast each morning. There are plenty of outdoor activities near our hotel, including golfing, deep sea fishing, sailing, parks and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn Morehead City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Morehead City Hotel Morehead City
Morehead City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing