We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Misleading”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Morehead City
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Morehead City
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Misleading”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

I am beginning to wonder who wrote all of the positive reviews for this hotel. We had reservations for the weekend following July 4th for a much needed "beach break". We arrived at the hotel at about 10 pm or so and the red flags began to fly as soon as we walked in the front door. The lobby / breakfast area was filthy. There was all over the floor where people were coming in and out of the doors, all of the trash cans were overflowing, there were empty pizza boxes and other trash all over the tables and even some on the floor. There was no one at the front desk. We waited a couple of minutes and even called the hotel. No one came nor answered the phone. After about 10 minutes, the female clerk finally came to the desk (smelling of smoke) and greeted us by saying..."yes". There was no apology or anything like that. We checked in and went to our room. YIKES! The room smelled, had debris on the floor, two waterbugs were crawling on the wall, and there was a dead one in the bathroom. There was no way we were going to stay at the hotel. We went back downstairs, and the clerk was actually at the desk. We informed her of the problems and that we were not staying as we were going to another hotel, She actually said that we might get charged because we were past the cancellation policy. What? We went down the street to the Holiday Inn (paid a little less) and had a great time there. Did not get charged for the fee for not staying so they actually did that right. Will not be back to that hotel when in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Betty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    162
    62
    28
    11
See reviews for
187
152
35
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
147 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

If I had written this review as soon as I left the hotel it would have been terrible. I was highly irritated with the staff at check-in and housekeeping. The biggest issue was they were 'out of pillows' when I called to get one for the pullout sofa bed. Which should never happen at a hotel anywhere......

BUT, that being said, when I complained after arriving home. The manager called me and assured me and apologized. I was refunded for the stay (I had redeemed HHonors points for the stay). Because of the response, I can easily forgive and may return if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank telamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed here for one night while vacationing with family. Rooms were very clean and the hotel seemed to be well kept. The complementary breakfast was good with a lot of variety. Rooms were cool and comfortable. Will stay again when I am in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ayby0611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012 via mobile

Tried to check in late at night. It took 20 minutes because both of the employees were in the back. I had to call the hotel from the lobby to announce I was there. A male and female came out, the females hair was a bit messy. My room was terrible. The carpet seemed moist like it was not properly steam cleaned. I hope that is the case. Just a really annoying experience.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alopez13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

great staff great property great sevice! sincerly carl pope

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carl p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

I stay at a lot of Hilton properties and the Hampton Inn Morehead City is one of the finest. Friendly, efficient staff, clean well-appointed rooms, and an excellent breakfast buffet.
We asked for and received a room with the waterfront view and it was lovely. The property is well tended and conveniently located for exploring the area.
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Check in early and ask for the waterfront view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pippi_two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
94 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

This was the second stop on a trip from St Augustine to New Jersey via ferry to the Outer Banks and finally the ferry to Cape May

We had booked the wrong day but the staff were helpful (and cheerful) and we got a room, even managed to use Honors Points which is a first for me and we travel a lot. But we did have to wait what seemed like forever for the room to be ready.

We ate at the Sanitary Restaurant, OK but not much ambience. Then we went to Beaufort, turn right as soon as you get into Beaufort, park near the water and go along the dock walk and see the shops etc. This is where we should have dined. This place was worth the trip.

The next morning we went to Cedar Island and took the 10.00 ferry to Okracoke, 2 1/2 hours or so, $15. easy to book online.

When you get off at Okracoke, Teach's on the left is good for lunch. It was after Easter but not everything open and still talk of Hurricane Irene last year,

Room Tip: They talk about water front rooms but the water was quiet when we were there, maybe busier in summer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SquanMariner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morehead City
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
3.0 mi away
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
#2 of 5 in Morehead City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Be...
#2 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
Island Inn of Atlantic Beach
#3 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Morehead City
2.0 mi away
Palm Suites of Atlantic Beach
Palm Suites of Atlantic Beach
#8 of 9 in Atlantic Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Morehead City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Morehead City

Property: Hampton Inn Morehead City
Address: 4035 Arendell St, Morehead City, NC 28557-2926
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Morehead City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Morehead City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Morehead City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Hampton Inn Morehead City is located only a few miles from Atlantic Beach, with amazing views of the Intra-Coastal Waterway. Our hotel offers 119 always clean and comfortable guestrooms, plenty of meeting space for events, a fitness center, outdoor pool, and complimentary breakfast each morning. There are plenty of outdoor activities near our hotel, including golfing, deep sea fishing, sailing, parks and beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Morehead City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Morehead City Hotel Morehead City
Morehead City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing