We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adventure close by”
Review of The Lazy 5 Ranch

The Lazy 5 Ranch
Ranked #1 of 41 things to do in Mooresville
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Adventure close by”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Went to Lazy 5 Ranch with family. Had a great time, kids loved it. So did I. Like the giraffes and llamas. Be careful with some of the animals, come right up to car and can cause scratching. Saw the car in back fender scratched by Buffalo that went up to door. But all in all, had a great time.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lakegirl523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    447
    163
    24
    8
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Memorable Experience!”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

If you love animals of all types, especially exotic animals, you will love visiting the Lazy 5 Ranch! It was one of the most memorable and fun experiences I have had! Took the horse-drawn tour with plenty of feed buckets provided. Was able to feed and touch such wonderful animals, such as bison, watutzis, giraffes, ostriches, emus, and so many others. There were goats, pigs, zebras, geese, water buffaloes, etc. I wish they provided a list so I could remember them all. Then we took the walking tour around the grounds, where we saw camels, burros, pigmy goats, red kangaroos, lemurs and many different types of birds and other fowl. It was Oct. 31, so the vegetation was dying out, but the ranch did provide some fall activities, such as "Pumpkin Chunkin'" for anyone to try. A fun day!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ellen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Such a Great time!”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We had a blast and didn't even get to see the whole park!!! So happy I read reviews and did the wagon ride. The wagon ride is the best way to go and with the cost of the feed, it's the same but your car roof doesn't get in the way. Our kids are 1 & 3 and to be able to feed and pet the animals was such a thrill for them. It is dusty so glad we wore old sneakers. I killed the battery in my camera before we even left the park. We had such a wonderful family weekend, can't wait to come back to Mooresville and hit the park again. Next time, we are going earlier so we can see the rest of the park and playground. Anyone thinking of going, it is a MUST DO!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank K10trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“So much fun!”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My husband, twenty-nine-year-old son, and I did the drive-through "safari" as well as the walking tour here. Mid-July, hot, humid, hilarious!

We had emus sticking their heads into our car, antelope flashing past, water buffalo staring at us, and so many more animals doing their animal thing. We bought a feed bucket and (mostly) tossed the feed out the window to draw the animals to our car. Some of the emus were allowed to eat out of the bucket but beware! Hang on to that bucket or they can knock it out of your hands.

We laughed a lot and wished our daughter-in-law and grandkids were with us, they would have had a blast! I would take this trip again and urge others to do the same. So much fun!

The entrance fee is cash only and the feeds buckets are reasonably priced. Tennis shoes for the walking portion are recommended.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mammajamma2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A Horse with a Bar Code”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We enjoyed driving through the 3 1/2 miles of road in the Lazy 5 Ranch. The animals were enjoying the beautiful fall weather. They were easy to see and pleasantly hungry. We had a bucket of food to share with them. The EMU would stick their heads into our car and seek the food. Very fun. Rolling up the windows ended the invasion if we wanted. The rhino was huge. Too bad the giraffes were in a smaller area instead of roaming around. But I am sure it was for our safety and theirs. If we were to return we would make a reservation and ride the wagon for the information and animal identification by the tour guide.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tripanticipation3359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lazy 5 Ranch also viewed

 

Been to The Lazy 5 Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing