We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mooresville - Lake Norman
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Mooresville
Lindon, Utah
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Clean and quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Gave me exactly what a business traveler needs - clean and quiet. internet access was good and the location was convenient to hwy and restaurants. My only suggestion/request is that they find a way to provide more electrical plugs. Maybe even add a power strip. This is not unique to this property.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    49
    34
    8
    5
See reviews for
77
36
10
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed one night while traveling. Bed was very comfy. Stayed in an accessible suite. Very clean. Furniture could be arranged a little different to better accommodate wheelchair. Good hot breakfast included. For the price it was a great value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunlover6072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed in this HI Express this week for two nights (would've been no nights if we could've found other suitable lodging in Mooresville.

Our first room......a king smoking on the 5th floor had ants crawling over the windowsill and across one of the tables. The evening manager was ever apologetic and quite nice but when he came up to spray the bugs with us in the room, both my husband and I were taken aback somewhat since he didn't ask if either of us had any breathing issues which I do.

We didn't feel comfortable staying in this room so asked to be switched to another room which we were ... two doors down sadly... to a two double bed room which wasn't what we wanted but we didn't have much choice. We did make an attempt to find other lodging in the area.

This second room also had signs of ants! It seems that housecleaning doesn't think to clean spilled soda marks that get under table lamps as I checked and this is what the ants were after. The bottoms of the lamps were sticky so in the second room I wiped them all down trying to get all the Coke drippings off them to deter any additional ants. This time we asked that the room be sprayed while we were out of the room and it was.

Again the night manager was as nice as he could be, profusely apologizing and eventually comping our room for the first night. We still feel we shouldn't have had to pay for either night.

It was unsettling for both of us to sleep in a room wondering where the ants would pop up next and very gratefully we didn't see any more.

Any good exterminator will tell you that using a household bug spray only makes the ant colonies divide and come back stronger but I'm not sure they even have a professional exterminator.

To be fair, all outward appearances in the lobby and breakfast area were clean and tidy, glass windows were clean etc. Room was also 'tidy', just not really clean as evidenced by my finding the soda remains. We did try the complimentary breakfast the second morning and were very impressed by all the offerings......sausage gravy & biscuits, scrambled eggs, bacon, cinammon rolls, a variety of cereals and juices, bagels and all the fixings......everything was delicious!

I don't think we will stay there again and actually don't plan to stay in Mooresville again even though we have family members in the area..........just not impressed with the level of lodging in this town so we will go back up to Boone where even the Super 8 is wonderfully clean, convenient and has no bugs!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaLj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mooresville - Lake Norman, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Dear VirginiaLj,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Mooresville, NC.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

This hotel was clean, staff was friendly and helpful. Got a good night rest and had a very nice hot breakfast in the morning. It is a perfect hotel for traveling. If you are looking for a resort go elsewhere, but if you want a clean comfortable place to stay the night, this is your spot. I would stay again anytime.

Room Tip: the suite is nothing fancy, just grab a regular room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor, Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stay at the Mooresville Holiday Inn Express every year around July 4. It's very clean, friendly and the staff is helpful. The only minor issue is the parking lot could be a might larger.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor, had a king bed, refrigerator and microwave. Very quiet even with all th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marilynbphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
205 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

This hotel is not going to be one of your Holiday Inn Express favorites if you enjoy the luxury that some properties exude. It is definitely a no frills property but certainly adequate for an overnight stay in their consistently comfortable beds and clean rooms. Since Mooresville, NC is a mecca for Nascar racing fans most hotels follow this theme so this hotel is decorated in mid century diner-like decor which personally does not appeal to me. The breakfast area gives you the feeling of being in your grand-mothers kitchen. The breakfast bar space was also cramped thus quite crowded at the popular 7AM time. This entire hotel seems to be pressed for space as the parking lot is extremely limited, the entrance-way narrow and constricted, the lobby and breakfast area quite small and only has one small elevator which was painfully slow due to high volume usage at morning check out time.
The rooms are lackluster with minimal furniture and their attempt at making the kitchenette area attractive falls short as their home-made construction of this just looks cheap. The bathrooms are clean but once again plain.
Overall this hotel is adequate but not luxurious nor fancy in any way...the personnel were kind and friendly. I do expect more from a Holiday Inn Express Hotel and this one could be much better with a little design expertise. I would probably choose to stay at another hotel when traveling north or south as we do each year simply because there are more available that could be better.

Room Tip: If you stay in this hotel request a room opposite the highway for a nice quiet night of sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HawkSpiritTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

We stayed here on our annual trip to Hilton Head and we will never stay here again. Since we were traveling in a group we opted to get the suite so we could save money by sharing. It was a huge mistake. The suite had terrible lighting and had just one tiny window that gave us a view of the roof and nothing else. It was dingy, the staff didn't seem all that pleasant and the breakfast left little to be desired. The only plus was that location is good. It's by lots of restaurants and shopping and is just off the highway.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank AimeeCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mooresville - Lake Norman, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Dear AimeeCo,

Thank you for your stay and leaving us a review. We are glad you liked our convenient location. We are sorry you did not enjoy you room accommodations and the breakfast. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to improve the quality and service that we offer. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to contact the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mooresville hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mooresville/Lake Norman
0.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Mooresville
2.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Mooresville
Candlewood Suites Mooresville
#4 of 13 in Mooresville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn Charlotte Mooresville/Lake Norman
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte / Mooresville
2.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Charlotte Mooresville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mooresville - Lake Norman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mooresville - Lake Norman

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mooresville - Lake Norman
Address: 130 Norman Station Blvd, Mooresville, NC 28117-6396
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Mooresville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Mooresville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mooresville - Lake Norman 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcom to Moorseville, Race City USA, our beautiful hotel is just 5 years old and we offer the best accommodations in Mooresville and the Charlotte Metro area. If you are visiting on business we offer free WIFI internet, a business center and we are located close to Lowes Home Improvement Corporate Headquarters, Lowes Planogram Facility for Lowes Vendors as well as near these fine local companies; Daimler Trucks, Carolina Beer & Beverage, CKS Packaging, Freighliner, UAW United Auto workers, NGK Ceramics, PGI Polymer Group Inc, Cardinal AG, Best Sweets, Southern Container, Duke Energy, TOYO Seal America, AeroDyne Wind Tunnel and PGI Nonwovens. For leisure travelers we offer easy access to I-77 and to over 100 local restaurants. Additionally in Race City USA you can visit NASCAR Race Shops for Penske Racing, DEI Dale Earnhardt Incorporated, Roush Yates Racing, JR Motorsports, Rusty Wallace Inc, Red Bull Racing, NTI Nascar Technical Institute, The NC Racing Hall of Fame, Memory Lane Museum and the Auto Racing Walk of Fame. Davidson College and Mitchell Community College are located nearby. Relax in Downtown Mooresville with our quaint shops pubs, Lake Norman State Park or enjoy an evening our outing on the Water at Queens Landing. So check us out, we would love to have you visit our hotel, and enjoy some good ole southern hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mooresville - Lake Norman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Mooresville - Lake Norman
Holiday Inn Mooresville
Mooresville Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Mooresville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing