We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Southern BBQ!”
Review of Big Bob Gibson's BBQ - CLOSED

Big Bob Gibson's BBQ
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout
Parkersburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best Southern BBQ!”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Looking for some authentic southern style BBQ while in the Charlotte area and stumbled on this place. So glad we did! Excellent BBQ, delicious sides (baked beans, slaw, red potato salad and mac and cheese). Good, fast service in a steakhouse type atmosphere. I wish I could have eaten more meals here. Yum!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ash-a-lee55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    11
    4
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If you want food poisioning this is the place to go”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

I went to Big Bob Gibson's BBQ Mothers Day 2011 with my family. I am the only one who ate the vineager cole slaw in my group. Went to the doctor and it was confirmed food poisioning. I will never I repeat never go here or recommend anyone else to this place.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovechick24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bar-B-Que that should be good!”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Good bar-b-que but the quality is a little inconsistent. I prefer the be beef brisket but have found it fatty from time to time. When you get a good serving it is excellent but from time to time you will get lots of fat. The fries are as good as I have ever eaten. The hushpuppies are definitely some of the best although you only get one albeit a big one. Service is always above average and the staff makes you meal a pleasant part of any evening. The chicken is okay but I have had lots better, the smoked turkey is excellent and the pork is better than average. Big Bob's is on my list of regular visits.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte NC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“The best smoked turkey”
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We stopped here on our way to Wilmington and decided to try the smoked turkey breast. We haven't had smoked turkey this good since we were in Texas. If you want to try something other than pork barbecue, you won't be disappointed! The turkey had great flavor, was so moist and tender. We ordered the regular portion size and it was huge. Baked beans and vinegar slaw were both great. Service was good and lunch came out quickly.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mg523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
100 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Average BBQ not worth a detour”
Reviewed February 18, 2012

While driving up the East Coast from Florida on a BBQ tour, we stopped here because of the excellent reputation of the Bib Bob Gibson BBQ in Decatur, Alabama. Our first indication of the quality of the meal to come was that we were among the very few patrons of this very large restaurant, which has all the ambiance of a Denny's (there is another BBQ restaurant literally across the street that looked a lot busier).

We ordered St. Louis ribs and various sides. Everything was just average. We had much better BBQ meals in other restaurants in other cities, from Florida through Virginia. We won't be coming to this restaurant again.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nutmeg06878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing