We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hathaway's...Best Fried Chicken. Ever.”

Hathaway's Fried Chicken
Ranked #2 of 124 Restaurants in Monroe
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Monroe, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hathaway's...Best Fried Chicken. Ever.”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We just recently discovered Hathaway's Fried Chicken, although I have lived in the area since 1983. I had noticed it previously when driving through Monroe, and saw that it often looked very busy. After finally dining there, I know why. The fried chicken is amazing...crisp and delicious on the outside, and tender, juicy and tasty on the inside, the way Southern fried chicken is supposed to be! And the portions are nice and large...a leg and thigh from Hathaway's is more than enough to satisfy any normal appetite, and the sides are delicious as well. I especially love their fried okra (perfection!) and their home-made macaroni-n-cheese. They also offer a number of wonderful desserts, and everything is even better washed down by their refreshing and wonderful iced tea! Oh, yes, I forgot to mention their biscuits, which also will not disappoint. Don't let the building's worn exterior or the dated atmosphere deter you from Hathaway's...it is a little gem hiding in plain sight!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KathyPR1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    15
    10
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Chicken was amazing”
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Definitely try the chicken and the chicken nuggets. Both were tasty. The nuggets really impress though because they aren't your typical nuggets. The taters were nicely seasoned. Mac and chz was a hit with my teenager. Don't waste your money on the mashed potatoes, not homemade. Biscuits were big and fluffy.

Helpful?
2 Thank tjeason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Glad I followed the other reviewers' advice and stopped in while driving through Monroe. Very good chicken and biscuits, and excellent potato wedges. Mac & cheese was creamy and just right. Staff was friendly. Small place, and although it looks average from the outside, or even like a 'hole in the wall,' I found the interiors to be clean and fresh looking overall. I will go again when in the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GlobetrottingFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxhaw
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“OMG Southern Fried Chicken Perfection”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Until I read a review on this place I had driven by it for years. It is so average looking on the outside you have no idea you passing the best fried chicken you can find anywhere.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CRL6780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthews, NC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fried Chicken”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This place looks like a "hole in the wall", but, they have great fried chicken, potato wedges, and iced tea. We usually get ours "to go", but, they have a dine in area available.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank packgirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hathaway's Fried Chicken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing