We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monterrey”

Monterrey Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 124 Restaurants in Monroe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Monterrey”
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

My favorite Mexican resturant in town. The general manager, Luis, is awesome. The food is always good, the service is also always good. I have never come here and been disappointed. Even the local police come and eat here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashrox2190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    15
    4
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Favorite local spot!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We absolutly love this resturant. The food is always great! We always split the paridilla for two and it's always more than enough. Otherwise we get the steak and cheese combo with tortillas. It's always our favorite! Sunday is the best time to go its always busy but worth it. And definitely get the fried Xangos which is fried cheesecake you won't regret it! Best dessert ever anywhere!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Stars4dt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Social meetings with friends”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I meet here in the evening with a regular group once every month. We are always greeted by the manager and the staff assembles tables as needed to accommodate our group. Definitely like their super sized mugs of beer - especially Dos XX dark on tap - which you don't always find elsewhere. Have to restrain myself from gorging on chips so I'll be able to fully enjoy a meal - I recommend Tres Amigos: beef, chicken and shrimp.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fresh, fast, and cheap!”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

I love coming here because they have the mild salsa. Other places you go and ask for it, and they bring you some kind of warm red sauce that they put on top of burritos - ick! You can't go wrong with anything here, but our favorites are the chicken fajitas and the cheese dip.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank KristenSax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, NC
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Best Local Mexican We've Found”
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Every now and then we want Mexican food. Having tried several in Monroe, this is the one we always return to. Good food, especially chicken chimmichangas. Price is reasonable. Service is always excellent and attentive. It's been around for quite a while. People keep coming back. Extensive menu.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Noisettiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monterrey Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Monterrey Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing