We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good family dinner”
Review of El Vallarta INC

El Vallarta INC
Ranked #19 of 125 Restaurants in Monroe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Charlotte North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good family dinner”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We love coming with the kids here. Great atmosphere and decent prices. They have cut back on the "free" cheese dip so that is kinda disappointing, but overall the food is always good.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chill33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    17
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Food and Good Service”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We consistently get good food and good service. Love the fresh made guac. My mother is a harsh food critic, but she loves this place.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank JacqueEl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Discovery!!!!”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

On our way back from Myrtle Beach, we were getting hungry and just pulled off at the first no-chain restaurant we saw. Looked pretty normal, not very busy, but it was a bit early.

My adult son ordered the burrito special and I order the enchilada and pepper combination. The chips and salsa were good, but pretty normal. The first thing I noticed when the food came was my pepper was not breaded. I thought, great! I don't like the breading and usually have to scrape it off. Then, I started eating. The cheese stuffing in the pepper was way different and better than I've ever tasted. Super flavor. The enchilada was brimming with tender chicken and the sauce was out-of-this-world good. My son agreed his burrito was the best he ever had. The beans and rice sides that came with my combination were very good, but pretty normal.

This will definitely be a must stop on future trips back and forth to Myrtle.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sadiedad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina; but from Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good mexican food...”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Had lunch on Feb 2nd. Their lunch menu has changed a bit so I tried something different. Had the Poncho's Burrito. It was very good and the price was right. Really enjoyed the fresh pico on the top of the burrito. Also had some XX's, was very nice. Will come back again...

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Butch65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Your trypical Mexican restaurant in Monroe”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Located on the eastbound side of Highway 74 in Monroe and difficult to get to from the westbound side of traffic, El Vallarta offers your standard Mexican fare served in a standard Mexican restaurant environment by friendly servers who provide standard attention to detail. The food is good but not great. They do provide bean dip along with the standard chips and salsa. I would recommend driving a little further down 74 to La Unica or Monterrey for your Mexican food in Monroe. Nothing special here at El Vallarta.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NCDawgFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Vallarta INC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing