We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't go wrong here”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Deano's Barbecue

Deano's Barbecue
Ranked #7 of 61 Restaurants in Mocksville
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
nc
Level Contributor
75 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Can't go wrong here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

We have been eating Dean Allen's bbq for a long time, ever since he ran another restaurant in Mocksville. This man knows what he's doing when it comes to barbecue, but that's not all he does well. We ate there this past weekend and my husband ordered the special, ribs, and they were excellent. Smoky, sweet, tangy, fall off the bone scrumptious! Everything at Deano's is good, even the tea, but make sure you order the hand cut fries...awesome! It's a place where the locals go for lunch and dinner and there's usually a crowd, so that tells you the place is good. No matter what you order, you can't go wrong and you won't go away hungry. Prices are very reasonable too and the place is very clean, with down-home family decor.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nervousnelly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    7
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
60 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“If you like NC BBQ in a country style setting go here.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Great NC BBQ in the tiny town of Mocksville: They have the usual BBQ menu items plus a few nice surprises like home made potato chips, sweet potato fries, and other rotating specials. They have good home made desserts like banana pudding too. Just stop in and see the special of the day on the boards. Deano and his crew will be happy to serve you. The staff members are pleasant and friendly local folks.

This is not a glass tableware and silver type of place but when the food and service is good, you don't mind. And yes, they do serve Cheerwine for those that must have it and Texas Pete is on the tables.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank waycoolmom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeensboro, NC
Level Contributor
102 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great pimento cheese burgers!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

I always make it a point to stop at Deano's when I'm in Mocksville and I always get the same thing, the pimento cheese burger. The pimento cheese is made fresh on premises every day and you can taste it. Got the double burger today with a 1/2 order of fries.....which is the size of a normal order at other restaurants. I've never tried the barbecue so I can't comment on that, but there was a lot of it being served while I was there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lowboync
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mocksville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fair Ba rbecue”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

The barbecue is alright but go to Lexington for the real NC Barbecue.
We get take out, maybe it's better if you sit down in the actrual restaurant to eat.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Angie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mocksville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“everything is good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

The 1/2 chickens and BBQ, fresh chicken salad, philly sand and burgers are all wonderful. Not to mention the homemade fries and ranch dressing.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nannette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deano's Barbecue also viewed

 

Been to Deano's Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing