We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic location Great Food”
Review of Restaurant 101

Restaurant 101
Ranked #1 of 61 Restaurants in Mocksville
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Winston-Salem, NC
Level Contributor
128 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Historic location Great Food”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Shrimp and Grits are great, and large serving. Hamburger and fries impressive and good! Atmosphere is nice because it is a restored/remodeled old building on the square in Mocksville.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 92ncca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    35
    14
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hit or Miss”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I actually enjoy going to this restaurant but it is a hit or miss for service and accuracy of what I ordered. The food is good but sometimes when I order grilled it comes fried. Service is also a hit or miss; depends on which waitress you get. There are a few very good waitresses and others forget they're working.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneSmith45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yadkinville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great for lunch”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I haven't been there in the evening, but for lunch I think the food is very good. The waitstaff are always pleasant!
They have a variety of sandwiches both hot and cold and good selection of salads.
There is also a bar, and outdoor seating.
They would get a higher rating if the meals came a little quicker.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, North Carolina
Level Contributor
148 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Pleasant Spot”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

A nice place for an informal or casual meal. Not special, but nice. Too much smoking near the outdoor dining area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank retiredtonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mocksville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't Bother”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We have been to Restaurant 101 on several occassions...we have walked out without service everytime but one.

I am not sure who you need to know to get a server, bartender or hostess to help you...but we have been left at the hostess station and the bar on three seperate occasions with staff passing by and NO ONE asked if we needed anything.

I guess..if you are a local and they know you it is different but I would not bother stopping.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant 101 also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant 101? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing