We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Spot”
Review of Restaurant 101

Restaurant 101
Ranked #1 of 61 Restaurants in Mocksville
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sanford, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Pleasant Spot”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

A nice place for an informal or casual meal. Not special, but nice. Too much smoking near the outdoor dining area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank retiredtonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    36
    14
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mocksville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't Bother”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We have been to Restaurant 101 on several occassions...we have walked out without service everytime but one.

I am not sure who you need to know to get a server, bartender or hostess to help you...but we have been left at the hostess station and the bar on three seperate occasions with staff passing by and NO ONE asked if we needed anything.

I guess..if you are a local and they know you it is different but I would not bother stopping.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mocksville
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Food is OK, Service is Hit and Miss”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

The restaurant offers average food. Nothing great but each meal has been good. My main issue has been with the service. We have waited on more than one occasion way passed an acceptable ticket time. Twice, our server took our order but didnt write anything down. I knew that wouldnt end well. We waited 30 minutes for our food which consisted of a hamburger, french dip, grilled cheese and a bacon cheeseburger. Prices are slightly elevated but the atmosphere is good and they do have a bar.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tim k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
“Nice place”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Good eats :) Try the BLT. Friendly staff and everyone seemd to know one another.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nc
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Love this small town restaurant!”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We live in Mocksville and have seen this restaurant through several different owners and changes. We have been going to Restaurant 101 since it opened, and we really hope it stays this way! The menu is extensive enough that it always offers something for everyone in our group, which ranges from small children to one vegetarian to picky teenagers to thrifty in-laws. They also offer daily specials; we ate there this past weekend and the special that night was a filet mignon with a skewer of shrimp, a side salad and another side, for only $19.95. The steak was very tasty (shrimp was a bit rubbery but had good flavor). There is also a really good selection of beers and wine, desserts, sandwiches (the crab cake is one of my favorites) and salads - the wedge with blue cheese is wonderful. It can get a bit busy at lunch on Thursday because of district court, and weekend nights can also be a bit busy and crowded, but we've never had to wait long for a table (they also take reservations). There is plenty of outside seating, which is wonderful during the summer, but don't miss seeing the inside for the great artwork, exposed brick, iron staircase...all the ambience of a beautiful old building in this adorable historic town.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nervousnelly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant 101 also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant 101? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing