We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lake Myers Resort is a joke”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake Myers RV & Camping Resort
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lake Myers Resort is a joke”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We had our first and last camping experience at Lake Myers on Labor Day weekend 2012. The bathrooms were beyond nasty and not cleaned the entire time we were there, the same dead bugs were on the counter for the length of the visit. My husband hardly ever complains about a campgroud, but he couldn't wait to get out of this one. The men's bathroom drain stopped up and resulted in standing water, no one attempted to repair it and glad we were only there a few days because he refused to bathe our kids whlie we were there.....it was that bad.

Now, on to our campsite. A little patch of dirt, no room to throw football with the kids or do any type of games. There were a lot of kids with bikes but they had to dodge the non ending golf cart traffic and at times they would jam out to some great music while crusing around.

The pool was great until they turned the music on. I understand playing dance music for the kids but there should be a limit. This is supposed to be a family place and I could not believe some of the songs they played on a Sunday afternoon...a lot my kids had never heard!

The grill had good food, but don't expect service with a smile. You can tell by the look on their faces they would rather be sitting on the stool watching the world go by that making food for an undeserving camper.

I invited friends to join us for the weekend and was embarrassed by this "RESORT" ....we had a good laugh about it but we won't make this mistake again. It is NOT the place to have a nice family vacation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    25
    19
    13
    39
See reviews for
83
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed at this campsite for the first and last time this year (2012) during 4th of July. We have been camping for about 10 years. This is far by the worst campground that we have camped at.
The camp sites are on top of one another, your awning is literally 12" from the back side of the camper in front of you. The rules only seem to apply to certain campers. No drinks, food, or smoking around the pool area. No cigarette butt receptacles were found anywhere on the campground and cigarette butts were all over the place. Just plain nasty. We stayed for three nights and the bathouses were not cleaned at any time during our stay. The toliets looked as if they had never been cleaned in one of the restrooms. The canoeing, bumper boats and slides are only available in 2 hour sessions for 4 hours out of the day ending before 5pm (during the time we were there). The lakes looked terrible; more like swamp water than a lakes. Even if the lake activities were available more often the water did not make them enticing. The putt putt had standing water in the holes and was not in good shape. They were not maintained nor cleaned. You need to bring your own broom to clean each of the greens to be able to play. The basket ball court nets needed repair. The game room, campground store, the bath houses, and restrooms do not have air condition. The campground cafe has no place to eat inside. The office closes at 5pm and leaves no information on how to get in contact with anyone. Cable did not work on our site. Garbage is not picked up and must be carried to dumpster by each camper. When we arrived the office we were handed our site and said here is your paperwork. No customer service to assist us even though this was our first stay with this campground. When we asked about where the site was it we were told it was on the map. They were not friendly and seem to be more interested in the staff that they were cutting up with more than getting a customer to be a repeat customer. It took 30 minutes to get a milkshake. The campground had lots of permanent sites that were up for sale which made me wonder if something has recently changed. Although we love the golf carts and usally get one for ourself when we are camping it seem like there were a contant stream of golf cart traffic. The best thing about the place was the size of the pool. The pool could have and should have been a little clearner but it was not unbearable. I think all the other things made it worse. However, bring your own chair. This too has limited hours.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank CDRash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mocksville hotels

Surf City, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

It had a lot of potential, with a great swimming pool, cool natural lake water slide, canoe rentals (but only 3 oars to rent out for the whole place??) & some activities, but it was EXTREMELY crowded!!! we were packed in like sardines. there was barely pace between the campsites. It was like an urban parking lot. Made it hard to enjoy "nature" when you could hardly see any of it. Even the rustic cabins were on top of each other. There was no place to park your car, and the space around the cabin was a joke. It's up on stilts, so there's a "bridge" to get inside the cabin tiny gravel space to "sit" outside the cabin... literally 4 chairs can sit around a tiny fire. No grill, so be prepared to bring one. the cabin itself needs to be renovated. I realize it's a "rustic cabin" but it smells and the "mattress" was gross!! The pool was great, very large and clean and a variety of depths and slides and fountains, plus a DJ played music and the kids danced. it was cool. but bring your own chairs, there's definitely not enough! and you can't eat or drink by the pool at all, so we made the hike to our cabin and back for snacks or drinks. lame.
Do NOT get me started on their AWFUL customer service!! We were ignored repeatedly, on several occasions, and when we finally did get a glance our way, were treated as if we were annoying them and interrupting. short cold, unhelpful, unwilling answers. Just sad.
I'm really am a "glass is half full" kind of person, and I tried here, and if the sites were not on top of each other, than this place wouldn't have been that bad, but that compounded with the rest of the little things, nah, it's not really camping.
Oh and ps: there are golf cart dorks joy riding all the time

Room Tip: I wish we'd have gotten a Villa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank YankeeBornSoutherner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winston salem
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

This place with some TLC and a lot of work could be a nice place again we camped here last year and came back this year for a weekend its still the same patched up needs some up grades they push off brush and leaves next to the cabins fire and snake hazard a lot of stuff is falling apart they need some management that don’t mind some hard work some one with a plan to fix it up there are way to many safety hazards threw out the place .

Room Tip: Go some were else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank nick m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

First of all, this is a very simple, and quiet place...it isn't anything fancy! I grew up going here every summer, and my family always had a great time. My favorite time there was driving on the golf cart and riding through the little roads throughout the camp site, admiring the campers that are all decorated differently, with twinkling lights strung from canopies, and people sitting by crackling fires outside. It is simple pleasure, to put it best.

There are 2 huge pools, a slide, putt putt, playground, and several water activities. You can camp out, bring your camper, or stay in 1 of the 2 "housing" options. One of them is a very rustic wood cabin-like building, with lights, and 2 sets of bunk beds, and some outlets....thats it.
The other is the octagon shaped small houses on the lake, which are my favorite. You have much more amenities here, and they're kept very nicely. Definitely the choice if you're not much of a "roughing it up" kind of person!

I would suggest this place if you want a camp-like experience, where you can meet some great people, and also have a few amenities as well. I'll always keep going back, and keep making more and more memories hopefully for my own children some day. :o)

Room Tip: No tent or camper but want to rough it? Choose the brown wood cabins. Otherwise, stay in the blue &q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jess B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Made reservations through Encore, for a 2 night stay on our summer vacation this year. When we got to Lake Meyers at 4 PM there was no one in the office. Our site info was pinned to a bulletin board outside the office. The site assigned was too small for our camper, and nothing more than a patch of dirt. The "resort" was fully of permanent campers and only a handful of sites for overnighters, all those sites were very small dirt patches. Left there and went to a nearby KOA for the night. Next day went back to Lake Meyers in the morning, still no one there at 9 AM. Checked out the facilities, the bath house next to our assigned site was broken down, doors didn't close on the stalls, filthy. The entire resort is very old and in disrepair. Looks like they have not made any repairs or maintenance in a very long time.

Tried to contact the "resort", no one ever returned my repeated calls and messages. Encore was no help either, just kept telling me to contact Lake Meyers. I tried my best to contact these people, all I ever got was an answering machine and they would NOT RETURN any of my repeated messages.

Encore and Lake Meyers are not off my list of places to stay. Do yourself a favor and take them off yours.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank RickO1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mocksville
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Mocksville
172 reviews
3.8 mi away
Days Inn Mocksville
Days Inn Mocksville
#2 of 3 in Mocksville
65 reviews
17.1 mi away
Village Inn Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Statesville
Red Roof PLUS+ Statesville
#2 of 21 in Statesville
413 reviews
13.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Bermuda Run
15.2 mi away
Forest Lake RV & Camping Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Myers RV & Camping Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Myers RV & Camping Resort

Property: Lake Myers RV & Camping Resort
Address: 2862 US Highway 64 W, Mocksville, NC 27028-8446
Location: United States > North Carolina > Mocksville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Mocksville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Lake Myers RV & Camping Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 425
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Lake Myers RV & Camping Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing