We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yum!!!”

Huey's Restaurant & Oyster Bar
Ranked #22 of 71 Restaurants in Mebane
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mebane, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“yum!!!”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

This is one of my all time favorite restaurants! I love the atmosphere. The lady bartender is always upbeat, sweet and friendly. It feels homey! The crab legs are fantastic! The ribeye is the best steak around and the twice baked potaoes and fried chicken are fabulous! I love this place!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lou m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    15
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Butner, North Carolina
Level Contributor
66 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“If you really love oysters!!!”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Huey's has been our go to place for great steamed oysters for a few years...hate in a way to let the secret out!!! They are consistently the best we've ever had in North Carolina....

They are brought to the table with the shells popped opened for you...and are very very clean..and always cooked just how you like them.

The Bar area has the most atmosphere...and service is always great.

On Sundays they offer 50 cent oysters, shrimp and wings...BTW...wings are wonderful too!

And....it's not really that far from Durham or Raleigh....right off of I-85 on Highway 70 at Buckhorn road...a wonderful place to eat seafood.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank beachgoer46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mebane, North Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Over Priced But Good Food.”
Reviewed July 17, 2011

The main problem with this place has always been the price for the amount of food they give you. The main dining area need more of a seafood house look to it. Other than that it great. Food has always been delicious. Service has been fast and friendly. Beer is cold and some nights they'll have a Jam session in the bar area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank james8396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
139 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“On Life Support”
Reviewed May 15, 2011

In its heyday, this place must have had customers. In its heyday, the food must have demanded a patron return. In its heyday, customer service must have been a priority of the owner. That was the past. We were served a pile of chopped something hidden under a heavy coating of what was supposed to be sauce. The white slaw was bland and watery. The crinkle-cut fries were standard food service.. The menu is overwelming and it showed in the quality of their offering. When Huey's large dining room is packed with 13 people on a Saturday night, and a bored wait staff standing around with little else to do, then youi know this place is on life support.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PRMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great value, great food, great service”
Reviewed August 1, 2009

First impressions are all important. A warm welcome was experienced, followed by friendly, knowledgeable and efficient service. The ambiance was more than acceptable.

The hush puppies are "to die for". The seafood combination platters are excellent value. We had flounder and crab cakes. My only complaint was the cole slaw, which I found to be rather sweet and watery.

Desserts are limited in number, but the blackberry cobbler was very good.

A very enjoyable experience which was worth traveling from Durham. We shall certainly re-visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BaldEagle44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huey's Restaurant & Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to Huey's Restaurant & Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing