We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seriously!?”

Osaka Japanese Cuisine
Ranked #134 of 179 Restaurants in Matthews
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Seriously!?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Visited the restaurant because do the TripAdvisor and I have to say that we were disappointed - one of the very few times.


The restaurant itself is okay, but it is time for it to be professionally refurbished - from the dinning room to the restroom.

The food was not good with the exception of the rolls. It was not cooked right, the shrimp tasted horrible and choose not to eat it to be safe.

Perhaps this place was good at one point, but its days are over. I am not a picky eater, but this one was hard to swallow.

To top it all off, the sanitation score is 92.5 (April 2013).

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cgomide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    6
    0
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Troy, North Carolina
Level Contributor
64 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“New owner....same name:-(”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Our family has been going here for years.......Now with (new owner) food was not as good......Putting in new windows and patio will not bring us back.......we just like good food....our waitress was clueless.......Good luck with your new business:-)

Still no mix drinks :-(

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Truthalways52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“I love hibachi, they don't disappoint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

If I could afford it, I'd eat at fancy Japanese grills every meal (you know the ones, where cook in front of you, make onion volcanoes, and throw shrimp tails in their hats). Alas, I don't have that kind of money. So, places like Osaka keep me going.

The service is fast, though not super friendly. I don't really need the kind of waitress who chats you up anyway. They have a good selection on their menu, both sushi and hot meals. I'm a fan of both the hibachi and the teriyaki chicken. I've only had their sushi once. The Alaska roll had a bit too much cream cheese, but all in all the sushi was tasty.

They give you a little side with your sushi order too. I have no idea what it was, there was some panko and some kind of sauce and it was maybe one of the best things I've ever eaten. I'll have to ask what it was next time I go back...

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KristinaD27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent! And the price can't be beat.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Try the habachi bento if you go for lunch. The waiter may try to give you teriaki but just explain you want the habachi bento. I love the place. Even my dad liked it and he hates sushi.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dpeagles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Enjoyable experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

Have been coming here since they opened. Staff treats you like family, food is good and reasonably priced. A good place to relax at the end of the day.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JBrow1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osaka Japanese Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Osaka Japanese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing