We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matthews
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
803 Elizabeth Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Matthews B&B and Inns
Poole, Dorset
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We had a wonderful 3 day stay with Martha and Will. They made us feel very welcome, even temporarily replaced the stars & stripes with a union jack for us!

They have a lovely tranquil home surrounded by beautiful gardens and trees. It was very peaceful with lots of birds and wildlife. Our room was very comfortable and had patio doors onto a large shared enclosed porch, where we could sit in the evening and have a meal or just sit and read.

Breakfast was delicious and Will's homemade granola was the perfect start to the day. One morning breakfast came with cake for my birthday, a very thoughful touch.

Conveniently located for Charlotte and surrounding attractions, but away from the hustle and bustle. If we are ever back in the area we would definitely stay at 803 Elizabeth Lane again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hinesadapo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
17
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

The bed and breakfast is set in a beautiful garden. If you want lovely surroundings, an excellent breakfast, and truly welcoming hosts, then 803 Elizabeth is the place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank safaridada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2012

There's no nicer place to stay in the Matthews or south Charlotte area. I travel often to see my parents at Plantation Estates retirement community. Discovering 803 Elizabeth B&B and hosts Martha and Will Krauss has made me look forward to these trips. The home and grounds are peaceful and beautiful, the welcoming hosts will put a smile on your face, and the food is delicious. The deck and sunroom off the bedrooms, with views to the gardens, are really great. We've booked as a solo, couple, and family group, and the B&B has been a lovely oasis for us every time.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed December 14, 2011

FIVE STARS!!!!! Actually Six. Everything you have always wanted in a B and B and more. Charming rooms, friendly atmosphere, extraordinary concierge by owners Martha and Will, gourmet breakfasts and a delightful afternoon welcoming tea, and VERY ROMANTIC. IT WAS SIMPLY THE BEST B&B that I have ever had the pleasure of visiting. Moreover, it was perfect for our family reunion and wedding. Joyce Ilson M.D. NYC,NYS

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyceilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

My husband and I found this great place when we were planning a trip to the area to visit relatives. The owners are great, friendly and sociable without being intrusive at all. We were the only couple there, but they put as much effort into our breakfasts as if they had a full house, i.e. making a full pan of their yummy baked french toast.
Our room, the queen sized bed room, was very nice, and has a sliding door that opens to a huge sunroom (as does the twin bed room across the hall). Our mattress was good, a little on the firm side. The full bed room looked like a real charmer, and its bathroom across the hall has a tub/shower combination.
It was the most homey b & b we've ever stayed in--it feels a lot like a friend of the family has invited you to stay at their place while you are in town.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaspruil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fletcher, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

My wife and I came to Charlotte for some shopping and a little time away from home. 803 Elizabeth wasn't fancy, but it was a great place to stay. The room was fine and the breakfast was delicious. Martha even sent us home with some of her baked French Toast! We also enjoyed meeting Emma, their cat. If you're going to Charlotte and don't mind staying out of the city, I would recommend checking out 803 Elizabeth.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiger519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2011

What a haven for weary travellers! Martha and Will are the perfect hosts - attentive, friendly & helpful without hovering. The house and rooms are so comfortable and breakfast was fantastic. The grounds and gardens are just beautiful and offer a wonderful respite from the stresses of travelling. We'll certainly return to 803 Elizabeth B&B the next time we're in the Charlotte area.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matthews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fourth Ward
The Dunhill Hotel
The Dunhill Hotel
#40 of 177 in Charlotte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 803 Elizabeth Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 803 Elizabeth Bed and Breakfast

Property: 803 Elizabeth Bed and Breakfast
Address: 803 Elizabeth Ln, Matthews, NC 28105-2549
Location: United States > North Carolina > Matthews
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Matthews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on five acres, 803 Elizabeth is a small quiet Bed and Breakfast surrounded by trees and gardens of roses, flowers, herbs, vegetables and fruits. Something is in bloom every day of the year! Family antiques furnish the B&B in a very comfortable and homelike atmosphere. Guests may choose a continental or full breakfast served until 9:30 am. Upon request we also provide vegetarian, low fat or other special diet options. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing