We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay on a budget”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Matthews-Charlotte
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Matthews
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place to stay on a budget”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

I take frequent business trips to Charlotte and I'm on a tight budget. The most important thing to me is a good nights sleep. The room I had was large and very quiet even though the motel was full of guests. Since the room was large the air conditioner worked fine because it didn't blow cold air right on you, or cut off and on.
The bath was very stark and basic but the tub was sparkling white and clean. I could stream movies easily on my computer without loading and disconnects. The carpet and general decor was genuinely retro but it didn't give me a bad feeling. I did't have a flat screen TV in my room and the super large flat screen TV in the lobby was on the blink and had off- color screen.
There are all kinds of restaurants nearby, both chains and local ones, and some that you could walk to and a big plus was a movie theater practically next door. The breakfast area was very clean and well stocked with hot food like sausage, eggs and bacon.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelReverie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chet_Patel, General Manager at Comfort Inn Matthews-Charlotte, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
I want to take this opportunity to thank you for your great compliment that you left for us with Choice Hotels. It is compliments like yours that helps us rank in the top 10% for the best Comfort Inn in the chain. It was great having you at our hotel. Hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    157
    48
    11
    9
See reviews for
198
106
37
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
621 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

We enjoyed a suite with a king size bed. The room was huge, and the staff very friendly. We were visting family on the southeast side of Charlotte, so the location was also very convenient. We needed a roll out, and it was provided quickly with no hassles. A good economical choice.

Room Tip: We asked for second floor on an end and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank authored
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chet_Patel, General Manager at Comfort Inn Matthews-Charlotte, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
I want to take this opportunity to thank you for your great compliment that you left for us with Choice Hotels. It is compliments like yours that helps us rank in the top 10% for the best Comfort Inn in the chain. It was great having you at our hotel. Hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

No frills. But if you are just looking for a place to lay your head, then this is the place for you. Felt like my feet were sticking to the carpet. Bed was ok. Wasn't expensive so was okay place to stay for the two nights we were in town. Not sure what was going on, but group of people hanging around outside of hotel at night. Made you feel uncomfortable. Got there around midnight, just me and my daughter, after traveling for 7 hours, and these people were hanging around outside. May have been guests, if so, not good clientel. Like I said room was ok. Nothing much for breakfast. Was close to where we needed to be.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abemzpcmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chet_Patel, General Manager at Comfort Inn Matthews-Charlotte, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback! We have renovated our entire hotel with new Management and we would like for you to come back and try us as you will love us.

Hope to see you soon!

Chet Patel
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Great location. Plenty of stuff nearby. Property is not brand new, but makes the best of what it is and staff is eager to help. Not all rooms have flat panel TVs, so call ahead if this is important to you.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sagarian9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chet_Patel, General Manager at Comfort Inn Matthews-Charlotte, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
I want to take this opportunity to thank you for your great compliment that you left for us with Choice Hotels. It is compliments like yours that helps us rank in the top 10% for the best Comfort Inn in the chain. It was great having you at our hotel. Hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Georgia, USA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

This is a no frills kind of hotel that worked really well for the 2 busy days we spent just outside of Charlotte for a friend's wedding. It is very convenient to interstate access or a main artery directly to downtown. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. My husband, who is perpetually hot, actually took the AC off of max! All of the small appliances in our room, especially the frig, worked great. I noted that this room was also big enough that my husband could head for the closet, past me at the sink, etc. and we did not trip over each other. Husband also had enough outlet space for his laptop and phone chargers, etc. on the table (not tucked away in the crack between the bed and nightstand, like some hotels.) The wifi apparently works very well, because he spent all his downtime on Facebook! :)

Breakfast was well-stocked with cereals, juices, coffee, breads, danish, eggs, sausage, and 2 flavors of waffle batter (which we thought was pretty fancy!) The staff was very nice, too. We had kind of a mess of wedding clothes and reception items around our room and decided to leave the "do not disturb" sign out so a maid would not have to worry about it or disturb our organization. When we returned to change, the front desk called to confirm that we did not need the room freshened-up, or any clean items. Very thoughtful.

Small corrections: ChoiceHotels.com says there is popcorn in the lobby - there is not, but who really cares? There are PLENTY of places to shop and eat within walking distance where you could also get popcorn. I have seen other reviews that suggested the pool was heated - it is NOT - but it looked like it would be pleasant in-season.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pinkiesdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chet_Patel, General Manager at Comfort Inn Matthews-Charlotte, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
I want to take this opportunity to thank you for your great compliment that you left for us with Choice Hotels. It is compliments like yours that helps us rank in the top 10% for the best Comfort Inn in the chain. It was great having you at our hotel. Hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Inexpensive but wonderful!! This a a really great place to stay! It is centrally located to the Charlotte area attractions and businesses. The staff is very friendly and accomodating... day or night. I have stayed there 5 times and each time my room was very clean. Twice I stayed in room 110 which had a jacuzzi tub. GREAT for relaxing after a long hard day at work. The free breakfast is quite adequate...coffee..juice..cereal..pastries.. waffles etc. and there is a "happy hour" snack with free cookies/coffee..chips/salsa..popcorn etc.. it all depends on the day. There are plenty of restaurants around the area for a quick meal or a sit down affair. I never made it to the pool but it looked clean. One drawback was that it can be hard to find the entrance off Independence Blvd the first time.
Don't be afraid to try an inexpensive hotel. Sometimes you get pleasantly surprised!

Room Tip: First floor rooms can be a bit noisy from the parking lot traffic but 110 has a jacuzzi that makes u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobinInNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chet_Patel, General Manager at Comfort Inn Matthews-Charlotte, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
I want to take this opportunity to thank you for your great compliment that you left for us with Choice Hotels. It is compliments like yours that helps us rank in the top 10% for the best Comfort Inn in the chain. It was great having you at our hotel. Hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Lake, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

The hotel is centrally located for the area but difficult to access the first time. The room was well appointed and comfortable. Everything was very clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast selection was varied. There was a guest washer and drier. Would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank asti439797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chet_Patel, General Manager at Comfort Inn Matthews-Charlotte, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
I want to take this opportunity to thank you for your great compliment that you left for us with Choice Hotels. It is compliments like yours that helps us rank in the top 10% for the best Comfort Inn in the chain. It was great having you at our hotel. Hope to see you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matthews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Forest
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlotte Matthews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Matthews-Charlotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Matthews-Charlotte

Property: Comfort Inn Matthews-Charlotte
Address: 1718 Windsor Crossing Dr, Matthews, NC 28105-5070
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Matthews
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Matthews
#1 Best Value Hotel in Matthews
#1 Family Hotel in Matthews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Matthews-Charlotte 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL BEING RENOVATED IN PHASES FOR THE ENTIRE YEAR OF 2017 TO GIVE OUR GUESTS THE BEST WE HAVE TO OFFER! Situated in the heart of beautiful Matthews in the Windsor Square Shopping Center. The Comfort Inn is the perfect location, whether traveling on business or pleasure to Matthews/Charlotte. The hotel is minutes from uptown Charlotte and only footsteps from the Matthews' area's finest shops and restaurants.As a guests of this Matthews, NC hotel, you can enjoy amenities and features like: •All New Renovated Rooms in 2014 •One of the few hotels in town with 2 Queen Beds (BRAND NEW QUEEN AND KING BEDS) •All rooms have 32" Flat Screen LCD Tv's/ Microwave & Refrigerator •Free Wi-Fi Internet •Free Full Hot Breakfast Buffet (Turkey Patty, Bacon, Cheese Omelet, Waffles, Pancakes, Boiled Eggs, Etc...)•Over 30 franchised restaurants with in 0.5 to 1 Mile ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Matthews-Charlotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Matthews
Matthews Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing