We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for a quick bite”
Review of Applebee's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Applebee's
Ranked #47 of 181 Restaurants in Matthews
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
Ambler, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“OK for a quick bite”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I am not an Applebee's fan, but we just wanted a spot for a quick drink and apps. Our server, Robert, was stellar. He made sure we were ok and was most efficient and pleasant. I had the pretzel sticks...nice "gourmet" kind of thing. Light and crispy. The cheese sauce was a little too much and overpowered the tasty pretzels. The honey mustard was better. My premium Margarita was perfect! Pleasantly surprised!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    22
    9
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Waitress”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The staff was great at this Applebee's. The waitress was very helpful with the choices was just a nice and friendly person to have wait on us.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shelby30375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Dirty Silverware”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

OK place, but showed my dirty silverware to the manager and he just shrugged it off. Not the action I expected. Food is just average and the Bar wasn't very clean.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Woodson56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Only because we were meeting up with a good friend.”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Our 30 minute wait for our group of 5 turned into more like 45-60 minutes. We watched several party of 4's get seated almost immediately. The hostess' explanation was that a party was taking a long time to leave after eating their meal. I can understand this as I used to work in a restaurant. However, I was not happy that I had to inquire because we weren't being updated on our wait. Once we were finally seated, our service was very good, but the food was ok. I had ordered the Cajun Shrimp Pasta for the 2/$20 deal and my husband ordered the same as a regular meal. My portion was definitely much smaller than his. The food at the Applebee's location on South Tryon is way much better in taste and portion. You get the same portion whether or not it is on the 2/$20 menu.

We only went to this location because it was closest to our dear friend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jarobi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbertsville, PA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“food, drinks, and friends together for a wedding”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

It was next door to our Hotel The Hampton Inn and the food was good and service was great.
The parking lot should have been connected, but was really not a big problem

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank bobhomemax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Applebee's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing