We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun dining experience”
Review of Bonefish Grill

Bonefish Grill
Ranked #4 of 181 Restaurants in Matthews
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A fun dining experience”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Bonefish in Matthews, NC is a great restaurant. The bar scene is always pretty busy and lively. The dining room is equally nice. Service is good and servers are generally very knowledgeable and helpful with recommendations. I have not had a bad meal here ever, and have tried many items on the menu. Of course the Bang Bang Shrimp is a must, especially if you are a lover of a little spice! Filets are also consistently delicious, and the signature drinks are yummy! If you are in Matthews, NC don't overlook Bonefish Grill for a lovely dining experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    45
    21
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
90 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner and drinks!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Nice restaurant with good atmosphere and great seafood! We went on a week night and the restaurant was pretty close to full. We did not make a reservation, but we were there on the early side so we were seated quickly. All the food was excellent - Bang Bang shrimp appetizer, Imperial Longfin entree, and Creme Brulee for dessert. They also have a full bar, and I ordered their raspberry martini which was very tasty. Overall, good service and an excellent meal. You won't be disappointed with this choice.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheresiaMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

The facility was very clean and the food was very good. My children enjoyed their meal and had fun writing on the paper tablecloth.

Helpful?
Thank Nay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
89 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice overall experience”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Our server was excellent and the appetizer (Bang Bang Shrimp) was as delicious as we are used to in other BFGs. The salads were fresh with just the right amount of dressing applied. We ordered two entrees, a special Icelandic Char and the pecan encrusted trout. Both entrees were excellently prepared. As if we had not eaten enough, we ordered the Key Lime Pie for dessert (just one), but took it back to the hotel for a late night snack. Overall, we enjoyed the dinner and service at this Bone Fish Grill in Matthews, NC.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ramius44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good! But Beware”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

First of all the food is really delicious. I have been here several times and can honestly say, I've not previously been disappointed. The staff is very pleasant and the atmosphere is inviting and rather soothing. I've eaten just about everything - bang bang shrimp (which is GREAT!), lily's chicken, the filet, all different types of fish and all very good. However, last evening I decided to try one of the few items I'd not tried before... The Imperial Longfin which per the menu is a Tilapia fish. It was very good but the fish was no tilapia. I'm a Mississippi girl. I know my fish. The meal appeared to be served with a Catfish instead. So if you don't know your fish..Beware you may not get what you paid for...Hence my rationale for an Average rating. Give people what they paid for or tell them when you are substituting!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bonefish Grill also viewed

 

Been to Bonefish Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing