We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic!”

Azteca Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 179 Restaurants in Matthews
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
“Authentic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

This has to be one of the authentic Mexican restaurant. If you like spicy salsa then try their "brick" salsa as its AWSOME. I stayed at the comfort inn next door (which was AWSOME) which is walking distance to the restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ROCKSTAR1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    48
    20
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very good food coupled with friendly service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant has friendly and fast staff and very good Mexican cuisine. Some "American" options too, but go for the Mexican - that's what you're there for, right?

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Josh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windham, Maine
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Real Mexican Flair”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Loved the Atmosphere,the staff, and the food....THUMBS UP ALL THE WAY AROUND! Close to our hotel so it was a great dining spot. Loved it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LanceandKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambler, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Reasonable Mexican Food Chain”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Azteca is a chain restaurant. The decor is what you would expect, lots of pretty colors, carved wood, beautiful pictures. The servers are dressed in appropriate garb and are quite friendly.

The menu is large and has the typical offerings. The prices are most reasonable. I had enchiladas and they were swimming in cheese. Tasty, but I could feel the pounds piling on. Next time, I will go with a healthier offering. I ordered a Margarita, up, salt on the rim...but they are not allowed to serve it up, so I had to have ice. Very sweet and I could tell from the first sip that it was a bottled, not homemade Margarita mix. Very disappointed.

If you want some average, inauthentic, very reasonably priced Mexican food, Azteca is your place. If you are a foodie and want something "real", keep on going!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Place!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I manage the hotel (Comfort Inn Matthews) next door to this amazing restaurant and I am so happy that this is next door. I go there at least once every 2 weeks for lunch and dinner. All the guest loves this restaurant as its walking distance and great food/service. Thank for the great service and food. Keep it up.

Chet Patel

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chet_Patel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azteca Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Azteca Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing