We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to eat - the regulars know this!”

The Americana Restaurant
Ranked #82 of 183 Restaurants in Matthews
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Ellesmere, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good place to eat - the regulars know this!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

On business from UK and found this place by accident. Always busy with regulars and locals who know a good place when they see it. Good food, great price and service. Recommended

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    13
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Matthews, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Reliable Meat and Three/ Breakfast Place”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Home-style cooking, inexpensive. Local hangout with many regulars. Family feel to the restaurant. Friendly staff. Always busy...but should be able to find parking in the private lot. Daily specials. This is a traditional Southern-style meat-and-three with generous portions. Their website is http://www.theamericanarestaurant.com/index.html and they have a full menu there.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Trail, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice, family restaurant, excellent service”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

The restaurant is family owned which offers consistency. The service is excellent, the food always good and the restaurant is clean. The staff is always eager to please. A nice comfortable atmosphere with casual dress and a place that never rushes you. A great place to meet for lunch or dinner if you just want to relax and have casual conversation. Our out of town guests loved the food and the atmosphere. Desserts are great, give them a try.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Home-By9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Home Cooking !”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We found The Americana through a recommendation from our hotel. So glad we tried it !
As we always try to find good local independent restaurants when we travel, this family owned restaurant certainly fit the bill .
Nothing fancy, this is a clean ,pleasant family place.The reasons to dine here are the food and the excellent service. It's almost alway a plus when you walk in a place and see it filled with people who are obviously regulars.
The menu here was a surprise. A huge variety of offerings including some delicious Greek fare. Their vegetables are cooked just right, which you don't find that often.
We went for lunch and liked it so well, we returned that night for supper, and the next morning for breakfast !
Prices are very reasonable, choices are many, everything we tried was delicious. Important too, the wait staff and the owner, who was at the cash register, were all exceptionally friendly and helpful.
If you are in this area, it's a place well worth trying. Thanks to everyone there for an excellent travel experience. We hope to return some day.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aramanthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly place”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The Americana was suggested to us by friends several times before we tried it. Doesn't look like much from the outside, but inside is spacious and clean, with tables, booths, and a fireplace. The menu is large, including some Greek choices, with daily specials. We tried the fried shrimp and tenderloin beef tips with peppers and onions. Both were very good. Fried squash is sliced lengthwise and is a favorite of mine.Greek salad dressing (pink) was really good and made with olive oil. Service is attentive, friendly, with frequent refills of tea and food was hot. We were too full to order dessert, but were told they are all homemade! Dinner for two plus tax was under $21. We will definitely return!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tea4mepls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Americana Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Americana Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing