We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charlotte I-485 at Highway 74E
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Matthews
Grosse Ile, Michigan
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very nice Hotel”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed at this Hotel while in town for the Bantam National Hockey tournament. I booked the trip a couple of weeks prior, mainly because of the proximity to the Ice Arena and most importantly, it was dog friendly. The hotel is really quite nice, especially for the price. The rooms were spotless and the beds very comfortable. Loved having a refrigerator and microwave in the room. Free wifi too. The complementary breakfast was good, the hotel staff was very nice and I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone in the Charlotte area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thollan9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    82
    53
    45
    27
See reviews for
177
64
21
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Greeted right away when entering the property! Received early check in, asked if my room was satisfactory,, came into the pool area and offered us pool towels that had just come from the dryer (felt so good)! Made us feel welcomed. Breakfast great selection and comfy beds! We are definately staying here again and will highly recommend it to family and friends?

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ms J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The room was clean, the staff was friendly and the cookies were good!!! A lot of great restaurants and shopping plazas nearby, so the location works out for most. It is pretty conveniently located on Independence Blvd, but be careful because you have one chance to turn it this place or you will end up on a freeway or making a few U Turns! At night, you can easily miss the turn, so be very mindful of the location. Don't let that deter you though; I will stay here again next time I come to the Matthews area (next week!)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank autiger3313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

As I walked into the main lobby to check in, I was immediately greeted by 2 gentleman behind the counter. They were very friendly and I knew my family and I would have a good 3 night stay at this place. About 5 minutes after we got into our room we received a call from one of the gentleman asking if our room was satisfactory and that if we needed anything to call them. Talk about customer service. The suite we had was very clean and beds were comfortable. The breakfast was excellent and there was somebody there making sure the food and drink were always stocked up for the guests.
I only have 1 negative comment about this hotel, they need to upgrade the TV's in the rooms to flatscreen HD. The Zenith tube TV's are outdated for a place this nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank desianddarnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Didn't get the room I requested and didn't get a refund because I couldn't have my preemies in a smokey room. I also called and confirmed days earlier.
Last review was taken off for some reason. If your booking through a third party don't bother booking here. They said and I quote, "if you book directly through us we'll give you what you want. You may pay more but you'll be happier.

I will not stay there or this group again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1greghbrehab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online Customer Care at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charlotte I-485 at Highway 74E, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear 1greghbrehab,

We sincerely apologize that your recent stay you had with us did not meet your expectations. We greatly appreciate the feedback received so we may share it with management to make all improvements necessary to ensure a wonderful guest stay. We do ask if you are ever in the area again to give us another try to so we may have the opportunity to show we do take your feedback into consideration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
512 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Recently stayed here, arriving late. I selected this particular Country Inn and Suites because of the positive reviews. First off this is a relatively small Country Inn and Suites with only three floors. When my daughter and I checked in our room and she had already gotten some of her luggage out, we found out the bathroom light (the only one in the bathroom) didn't work correct. So we go to the front desk and they gave us a another room. While the front desk was extremely nice, this is something the managment should have caught before we checked in. We did get upgraded to a suite which was nice. The room was very clean.

The room was nice but had the old tube TV's. I consider any hotel that doesn't have flat screen televisions to be outdated (unless it is a historic property).

TIP: We got to this motel on I-485 north exiting on highway 74. The hotel is on the left side of the divided highway. We turned around and because it was so dark and there was no noticable sign we missed the exit to the access road to the motel and had to go back on 1-485 again and come back around. If it was daylight we probably would have caught it. The motel says the city of Charlotte won't let them have a better sign.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Each time we stay at the Country Inn & Suites in Matthews, North Carolina it gets better than the previous stay. The staff at this hotel knows you by name and welcomes you like you are a family member.

We had a nice, large suite with two televisions and the living room was very comfortable with a sofa bed, chair, table and chairs. There was a wet bar between the living room and bedroom which contained a refrigerator and microwave. The bedroom had two beds and a television and there were two closet areas.

The bathroom was large and had two electrical outlets so we could use the electric razor and hair dryer at the same time. The vanity was so long that two adults could use it at the same time. The water pressure in the shower was good and the hotel provided a lot of towels and wash cloths and shampoo, conditioner and lotion.

We enjoyed the fresh baked cookies that were in the lobby and the reception on Monday and Tuesday evenings. Pizza, salad and chips were served on Monday and Tuesday there was chicken, meat loaf, mashed potatoes, chips. In addition to soft drinks, there was beer and wine.

The breakfast was outstanding with so many items on the breakfast bar, waffles, bagels, toast, cereal, fresh fruit, yogurt, oatmeal, grits, eggs, etc. There was a selection of teas and hot chocolate in addition to juices and coffee.

The other Country Inn and Suites could take lessons from this hotel; the employees are so nice and caring and make you feel welcome on each visit.

We will stay here on our next visit to the Charlotte area.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matthews
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Matthews-Charlotte
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Matthews East
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Charlotte Matthews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Charlotte / Matthews
2.5 mi away
Sleep Inn Matthews - Charlotte
9.5 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites - Monroe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charlotte I-485 at Highway 74E? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charlotte I-485 at Highway 74E

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charlotte I-485 at Highway 74E
Address: 2001 Mount Harmony Ch Rd, Matthews, NC 28104-4113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Matthews
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Matthews
#5 Business Hotel in Matthews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charlotte I-485 at Highway 74E 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to One of the Top Matthews, NC Hotels The Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charlotte I-485 at Highway 74E, NC welcomes guests with comfortable accommodations and friendly service. Convenient on-site amenities include a heated indoor pool, free high-speed Internet access, a fitness center and the complimentary, hot Be Our Guest Breakfast buffet. One of the most convenient Matthews, NC hotels, the Country Inn & Suites is an easy drive down I-485 or Highway 74 from all of the Charlotte area's top attractions, including Carowinds, Lowe's Motor Speedway and Uptown Charlotte. Book online today and discover the comfort and convenience of the Country Inn & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charlotte I-485 at Highway 74E reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Matthews Hotel Matthews
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Matthews
Country Inn Matthews
Matthews Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing